German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Absolutely great as is. You don't need to add cornstarch--just cook it at a lower temperature and you'll get the texture and consistency you need. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Despite suggestions to add cornstarch, I did not. Instead, I pulled out a book and let it cook on low stirring constantly for about 45 minutes, added the pecans and coconut, and put it on. It came out the perfect thickness! Easy to do despite the time, and tastes great =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
needed the corn starch to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I just used butter b/c that's what was on hand. I also added more coconut and it helped thicken the frosting. Made it for fathers day and he loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zulypebbles
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
my first time making and eating this. it came out absolutely amazing and was very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zulypebbles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Wow this is excellent and simple! I make cakes for friends/family birthdays and my daughter asked for coconut/pecan/caramel icing and I deduced that she must want a German Chocolate Cake variation (something I have never made before and didn't THINK I liked.) I bought a storebought cake mix and a national brand of packaged pecan coconut icing and then I thought - I wonder if I can make a better icing at home? Found this and threw it together this afternoon wow it is very, very tasty. I also followed the advice to add some cornstarch to the evaporated milk - I added about a tablespoon. It took a good 10-15 minutes to thicken and I worried it might not thicken but eventually it did. I can't wait for my daughter to taste this absolutely excellent icing. BTW, I opened the storebought and did a side by side taste test and it isn't even in the same universe. Thank you! I can make with confidence in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This frosting did not turn out. It was way too thin. After making several changes to the recipe my second attempt turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sugartarian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I really enjoyed the cake but used another frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This frosting was fabulous!! I did not alter any of the ingredients listed. I agree with other reviewers, it does NOT need cornstarch. Based on other reviews, I added all ingredients, except the vanilla and nuts, into saucepan and cooked over 2-3 level heat for about 6-7 minutes, stirring occasionally (while it was warming, I toasted the coconut and pecans in the oven 5 min at 350). Once the butter was thoroughly melted and the mixture was smooth, I turned up the heat to between 6-7 and continued to cook for another 6-7 minutes until the mixture started to boil. After it started to boil, I continued to cook, stirring constantly, for another 6-7 minutes. At the end of the 6-7 minutes, the mixture should just be getting into the soft candy stage (higher than 200 deg). If you are unfamiliar with this, it will seem like the mixture is starting to pull away from the edges of the pan and the bubbles will start making a popping noise more than a rolling boil type sound. Once it reaches this stage, I cooked for about 2 more minutes then removed from heat. I added the vanilla and mixed to blend then added the toasted cooconut and pecans. I left the mixture in the sauce pan on the back of the stove as I made the cake. By the time the cake was cooled, the frosting was a perfect consistency and was the exact amount needed for a 13x9 cake. Turned out magnificient, looked great and tasted even better. Thanks Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is so insanely good! I never liked German Chocolate Cake until now. If it weren't piggish, I would eat the frosting alone with a spoon. I wish I could give it 6 stars. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States