German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly but it did come out very runny. I'm giving it 4 stars because the taste was great and I think it has potential. Next time, I think I will allow the liquids to come to a boil for a bit allowing it to thicken, like others suggested. Then I will probably also wait for it to cool before frosting (so that it's warm, but not still hot). Also, my brother ate it and suggested grounding the nuts finer and using less nuts and more coconut. I think this would make it easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was fairly good. Make sure you chop up the pecans good enough. Otherwise it will be hard to spread. Overall the look was spot on, but the taste seemed a little lacking in something. Haven't figured out yet what, but I think I'll keep looking for a better version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first time ever making it and it was simple and yummy. I did as a few others and added cornstarch to thicken. I also used butter instead of margarine. I am a butter freak. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Admittedly this is not the best looking cake out there, but I cannot tell you how delicious and perfect the icing was to my German chocolate cake. Everyone made me swear I actually made it and didn't buy it because it was that good. I used butter since I didn't have margarine and it took 20 minutes of constant stirring before it thickened up but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreekMuse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Compared to store bought this version has a milkier taste and not what I was looking for, but it sufficed. I thougth it curious the recipie didn't call for toasted pecans. I think the frosting is to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I took two of other reviewers ideas and this came out perfect. First, I turned up the heat and stirred like crazy,no cornstarch and it was perfect! I only added 1/2 cup of pecans and 1/2 cup of coconut and again that was perfect for both me and my husband! Thanks for a grat recipe! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Only four stars because, following recipe did not result in the ideal consistency. Even adding cornstarch did not thicken it as much as I wanted. I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made this - used unsweetened coconut flakes and butter instead of margarine. It came out perfect. It didn't say how long to cook - just until thick - which took a while... maybe 10 minutes? Simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome! Didn't need cornstarch. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly to cover a 9 by 13 cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delicious! We really liked the pecans chopped in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States