German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is delicious. I made it exactly the way the recipe says. It takes some time for it to thicken but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Added 1tbs cornstarch to the milk before starting the heat, turned out great. You must remember that it takes a while to thicken, just like gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very yummy! I did add cornstarch on mine just because everyone seemed to say it works. I didn't have enough sugar, so I added the rest with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on Christmas and everyone loved it!! I did not add cornstarch, but I did turn the heat up after about 10 minutes to help it thicken. After I added the coconut, it ended up being the perfect consistency. I will never try another German chocolate cake frosting; this one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jragz33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe tastes good, but it takes forever to thicken enough to be able to spread on a cake. I added the cornstarch based on another review, but that didn't seem to help thicken the mixture. Even after 30 min., still not thick enough to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this tonight and the only thing is I didn't think it was getting thick enough but I used some corn starch like some other people suggested and it got to the consistency I was looking for. It is really tasty and makes the cake look really beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille853

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This frosting is amazing! I had been searching for a good frosting recipe that isn't icing sugar based because I have a lot of diabetics in my family, and this fit the bill. Instead of using 1 cup of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar Splenda. I was worried about how well it would thicken up with the smaller amount of sugar, so I cooked it on medium heat and added 1 tbsp cornstarch for good measure. It turned out great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirl0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a perfect frosting for a German Chocolate Cake. My husband raved about it. I will always use this recipe. Only change I made was to add some additional coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shellie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a delicious icing recipe. I used butter and roasted the coconut flakes and pecans at 350 for about 5 minutes. I cooked and constantly until it reached 190 degrees. It made for some good eating on my birthday : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This frosting was the best part of my cake. I roasted the nuts and coconut first and makes a difference. I cranked the heat up as well as added corn starch and it thickened up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States