German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on Christmas and everyone loved it!! I did not add cornstarch, but I did turn the heat up after about 10 minutes to help it thicken. After I added the coconut, it ended up being the perfect consistency. I will never try another German chocolate cake frosting; this one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jragz33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe tastes good, but it takes forever to thicken enough to be able to spread on a cake. I added the cornstarch based on another review, but that didn't seem to help thicken the mixture. Even after 30 min., still not thick enough to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this tonight and the only thing is I didn't think it was getting thick enough but I used some corn starch like some other people suggested and it got to the consistency I was looking for. It is really tasty and makes the cake look really beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille853

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This frosting is amazing! I had been searching for a good frosting recipe that isn't icing sugar based because I have a lot of diabetics in my family, and this fit the bill. Instead of using 1 cup of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar Splenda. I was worried about how well it would thicken up with the smaller amount of sugar, so I cooked it on medium heat and added 1 tbsp cornstarch for good measure. It turned out great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirl0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a perfect frosting for a German Chocolate Cake. My husband raved about it. I will always use this recipe. Only change I made was to add some additional coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shellie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a delicious icing recipe. I used butter and roasted the coconut flakes and pecans at 350 for about 5 minutes. I cooked and constantly until it reached 190 degrees. It made for some good eating on my birthday : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This frosting was the best part of my cake. I roasted the nuts and coconut first and makes a difference. I cranked the heat up as well as added corn starch and it thickened up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was FANTASTIC!!! I read some of the other reviews and found that the cornstarch help thicken the icing! My family absolutely enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This frosting is fantastic! No more store bought German Chocolate Cake Frosting for me. This is definitely worth the time. Thanks Carol B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly but it did come out very runny. I'm giving it 4 stars because the taste was great and I think it has potential. Next time, I think I will allow the liquids to come to a boil for a bit allowing it to thicken, like others suggested. Then I will probably also wait for it to cool before frosting (so that it's warm, but not still hot). Also, my brother ate it and suggested grounding the nuts finer and using less nuts and more coconut. I think this would make it easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States