German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This has a wonderful taste! I had to increase (medium low the temperature of my stove and cook for quite some time to get it thick. I slathered it on brownies after it cooled for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This recipe really doesn't make enough frosting for a sheet cake, but it is authentic and very good. You have to cook this about 30 minutes to get it properly thickened - it should be at a full rolling boil while stirring for about five minutes and it will thicken up just fine. The whole idea is for the frosting to be candy-like, and it does reduce to about half the amount you start with. I don't recommend using cornstarch as this is not going to produce a properly cooked, authentic German frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this for a birthday (by request) I have never liked German Chocolate Cake but this was a huge hit! Followed directions exactly, took slightly over 30 minutes to thicken, but the flavor and texture is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
First time making this instead of buying it in the store - superb! i added the cornstarch just because i tend to listen to reviewers. I also used a whole 7 oz bag of coconut too and probably more than a cup of pecans. Yummy in my tummy! I'll try not to use all of this on the cake so I can eat it out of the fridge :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariusvamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by Janie Purdin
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Loved it, it did take 35 minutes of me constantly stirring on medium heat for it to thicken up perfectly but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Purdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Fantastic Recipe! I have used it several times, and it's a hit every single time. I normally don't add the coconut into the actual icing, though, since some don't care for it. I just toast it and allow people to add it as they cut a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is delicious. I made it exactly the way the recipe says. It takes some time for it to thicken but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Added 1tbs cornstarch to the milk before starting the heat, turned out great. You must remember that it takes a while to thicken, just like gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very yummy! I did add cornstarch on mine just because everyone seemed to say it works. I didn't have enough sugar, so I added the rest with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States