German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made this frosting for my daughters birthday . It was FANTASTIC ! I only wish that I would have remembered how long I stirred it because it was a LONG time . But , it was definitely worth it . Today I am making it again . A request made by my younger daughter (who just wants the frosting ) LOL . But as I looked in my cupboards & I do not have evaporated milk as called for in the recipe ,,so I am going to try to use condensed milk .Keeping my fingers crossed that this works . Thank you sooo much for sharing this awesome recipe with us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This frosting was awesome! I never knew it was so easy to make coconut pecan frosting...I'll never use store-bought again! This recipe was perfect as is. Make sure you cook it until its to the soft ball stage...there is NO need for corn starch! Great recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Best German Chocolate frosting ever! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My husband bet me that this wouldn't taste better than frosting out of a can. Well, he is convinced now! I used brown sugar instead of white to give it the caramel flavor but other than that, followed the recipe. I did use a candy thermometer and cooked to 200 degrees which was perfect. It will thicken once it cools and cornstarch is definitely not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I've made this frosting twice and it came out perfect both times. I followed one reviewer's (Dana) instructions to cook for 6-7 minutes on medium heat. NO cornstarch is needed. I also toasted the pecans and coconut. This recipe is so good that I could eat it without the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Great Recipe - FAULTY DIRECTIONS! In some of the other recipes someone suggested using cornstarch cause the frosting was thin and drippy. Yuck! Do not use cornstarch! The problem is the level of heat. You must get the sugar to carmelize--so the mixture thickens properly. Bring the: evaporated milk, sugar, egg yolks, margarine and vanilla mixture to a boil...or almost boil. You can start on low heat, but unless you want to stir all day...bring the heat up until you start to see it boil. Yes, stirring constantly. Don't leave the stove! Then poor your mixture over the pecans and coconut, mix well. Cool thoroughly before using! Oh, btw, a 12 oz can of evaporated milk is a cup and half. Maybe that is why some people said this frosting was runny? Unless you buy 8 oz cans of evaporated milk, you'll have leftover evaporated milk. The other change I made was I added more pecans and more coconut. (I added these after I made the frosting per the measurements stated in the recipe). After testing, I wanted more coconut and pecans. The other change was: real butter, not margarine. Ask any cardiologist which is worse for your health...butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Okay, well, here's the deal. I had a german chocolate cake and as a quick fix, I bought an already prepared coconut pecan frosting. The thing was, the tub was only half full, not near enough frosting. I prepared the above frosting recipe, omitting coconut and using walnuts instead, I used 1 tsp of cornstarch and when the frosting was done on the stove, I MIXED IN the already prepared frosting and combined the two. It came out perfect, especially since I like a little coconut but not too much. So for me this recipe is a WIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Malcom, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I made this as directed without cornstarch and had no issues thickening it, I just turned up the heat and stirred. I did toast the coconut and pecans. I plan on making this again but will only toast the coconut as the pecan flavor was too pronounced and made the frosting taste more like pecan pie. Delicious yes, but I want more coconut flavor. I used a box cake mix and the frosting elevated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This turned out perfect! I toasted the coconut and pecans for a little extra decadence. Cook it on low for a little while and then turn up the heat to medium and stir like crazy while it it bubbles away. That's how you thicken it up. It takes a few minutes and a little arm power but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
The only thing I changed on this recipe was to use butter in place of margarine as I didn't have margarine. It turned out perfect. The secret to making this icing is patience. It took 30 minutes to cook not 15 as recipe says but was well worth it. Remember it will thicken some as it cools. I let it cool slightly before putting it on the cake. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States