German Chocolate Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Don't substitute oil!! Unless you're sure you know the right proportions. This rating is only for the batch I tried to make by substituting oil as some of the previous reviewers did. Since they didn't say otherwise, I assumed a one-to-one substitution and completely wasted a whole box of cake mix. Very disappointed. I went with the oil b/c it was more affordable, If you're going to suggest substitutions, please be specific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Very good, RICH recipe. The cookies are not too sweet, so when filled with the caramel frosting you get a great flavor. The cookies will be puffy when first removed from the oven, but will flatten as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These Came Out great, and my little sister loved them! I used devils food and chocolate frosting per her tastes. I made them very big, so next time I will roll out the dough and make mini cookie sandwiches. I will also try lemon cake with lemon icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Great recipe. Yumm! The cookies turned out so deliciously moist and just slightly crispy on the outside. I used vegetable oil for the shortening and cooked the cookies on a Baking stone (I had a friend in cooking school recommend only baking on a Silpat or Pampered Chef Baking Stone; I guess they did an experiment and found those two items cooked the most evenly). I am going to try this same recipe with a different cake mix and frosting sometime, but for now, why mess with a good thing? I will definitely make this again - tomorrow in fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papermuse
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I subbed coconut oil for shortening which gave the cookies a distinctive coconut taste all by themselves. So I did half the recipe as directed, and left the other half without the frosting. A hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made these cookies for the raffle table at my club meeting. I had extra copies of the recipe for anyone that wanted them. The next month, I got 11 raves for the cookies, so they will be made again. Everyone at my house, loves Chocolate - in any form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Made this for a friends birthday and they were an absolute hit! Very moist and tasty. I will definitly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Yummy!! I like these as much as the cake if you eat it them right away!! I didn't like them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catrinamarie78
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My cookies didn't flatten out when they cooled but i used a spatula and did it myself. They still looked and tasted wonderful. Will make agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This is the easiest cookie I've ever made. Just dumped the three ingredients in my standing mixer for a few seconds and that was it. I made the balls smaller and rolled them in powdered sugar (my daughter 4 year old daughter loved helping with that part) for a different look. I frosted mine with regular chocolate frosting but the possibilities are endless. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUMMRZGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheatland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States