German Chocolate Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made these last night for some friends that came over. They loved them! I replaced the 2/3 cup of shortening with butter ( worked fine) and I had no frosting so I used powdered sugar as a topping. They were soft, sweet but not too sweet, delicious cookies. I will be making these again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Everyone loved these! I used funfetti cake mix and strawberry and chocolate frosting! They were gone within the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These cookies were so moist and delish I wanted to eat them the second I got them out of the oven! The recipe was super simple! Thank you so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jexlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made these cookies for the raffle table at my club meeting. I had extra copies of the recipe for anyone that wanted them. The next month, I got 11 raves for the cookies, so they will be made again. Everyone at my house, loves Chocolate - in any form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Easy and quick recipe to make. Very simple, and delicious! It is important to form the balls small to keep thier shape. If you spoon drop them they flatten out. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Easy and tasted great. Made for a bake sale and all were sold. I used my Pampered Chef small scoop which made all the cookies the same size. Dusted with confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I just made these a few days ago, and they were not only easy but absolutely delicious! They are a little puffy when you first take them out of the oven, but like another person said, they flatten out as they cool. I used the coconut pecan frosting for the sandwich cookies, but I had some that didnt match up properly, so I dusted those with powdered sugar. AMAZING! I think it would be too much to do both frosting and powdered sugar, though. I've already had a few friends ask me for this recipe, too! I can't wait to try it with other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
absolutely wonderful! My daughter made these for me last night (she knows how i adore a bit of sweet with my evening decaf tea - such a good kid I'm so lucky to have!) Anyways, naturally we didnt have german chocolate cake mix on hand, nor the frosting - and I was low on shortening soooooo - there were changes - She used a fudge brownine mix 1/3 cup shortening, 1/3 cup margarine and a peanut butter frosting (1 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, splash of milk and whipped with a hand mixer. The cookies did spread out quite a bit - but were FANTASTIC. crisp on the edges with the middles a bit soft and a little frosting ... wonderuld sandwich cookies YUM. Cant wait to pick up the german chocolate cake mix!! thanks BLKLABB1. Utterly wonderul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Photo by VegGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I used 1/3 cup of vegetable oil and 2 eggs. They turned out soft and delicious! I've liked other cake cookies better because they had a stronger flavor but it's great with the icing in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
followed recipe, added some grated baking chocolate to the batter. turned out perfect. not a fan of german chocolate cake, but totally different as a cookie. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States