German Chocolate Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
These cookies are really, really good. Even without the frosting, which is delicious, the cookies are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
My husband LOVED these but we thought they were too sweet. I'll definitely cut way down on the sugar in the cookie part next time. the frosting is fine, just don't overcook it, it'll taste like custard if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
My mother loves German Chocolate cake. I think she likes these cookies even more! I can't wait to make another batch. These cookies impressed my brother who is critical of everything. All the cookies were gone in two days. Make sure to let the icing cook awhile and if it seems runny, add more sugar. I definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Great cookies - very rich and chocolatey. Make sure cookies are completely cooled before icing or they break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
mmmmm~~~~so good! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I added nuts and coconut to the cookies and omitted the frosting and they came out very good. I also used butter instead of shortening. Next time I'll make them I'll cut down on the sugar and leave out the coconut though, because they are just a bit too sweet for me. They are delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family loved these chewy cookies. The only thing I changed is I didn't make the homemade icing, instead I purchased the Betty Crocker pecan frosting that's already prepared (much cheaper and easier than buying the nuts and making it yourself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made these cookies exactly how it says! Did Not over bake them, they were moist and gooey! Took them to a party and they were a huge hit! Making them all the time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were amazing! I did make a few changes though. Instead of 2 cups of chocolate chips I used 1 cup of chocolate chips plus 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and 1/2 cup of coconut. For the frosting I used the following recipe: Combine 1 egg (lightly beaten), 1- 5 ounce can of evaporated milk, 2/3 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup of butter in a saucepan. Cook and stir 10-12 minutes over medium-low heat until slightly thickened(don't turn the heat up too high or you could end up with some sweet scrambled eggs). Stir in 1 1/3 cup of coconut and at least 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. After the cookies are done I drizzle them with chocolate (chocolate chips in a Ziploc bag microwaved 20 seconds at a time until melted). Delicious and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Fabulous! I made a few changes - I don't use hydrogenated oils, so I substituted half butter and half coconut oil for the shortening in the cookies, and used coconut oil in place of the shortening in the frosting. Worked like a charm. I also used dark chocolate chips instead of semi sweet, as I prefer dark chocolate. The cookies do have a cake-like consistency and stay moist. My man's fav cake is German chocolate, and these are so much easier to whip up....and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States