German Chocolate Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jacinda_bird
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe was so simple & quick, & they turned out beautifully! I often have my cookies flatten out, so when these came out so great I was very happy. I didn't add the full amount of chocolate chips, I usually add less than what most recipes call for though. After these baked I gave them to my "taste-testers" before making the frosting, I ended up not frosting them. With the amount of brown sugar used, they would have been way to sweet with frosting. I'd lower the chips & sugar if you're going to frost them. I recommend doubling this recipe because they go fast :)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Fabulous! I made a few changes - I don't use hydrogenated oils, so I substituted half butter and half coconut oil for the shortening in the cookies, and used coconut oil in place of the shortening in the frosting. Worked like a charm. I also used dark chocolate chips instead of semi sweet, as I prefer dark chocolate. The cookies do have a cake-like consistency and stay moist. My man's fav cake is German chocolate, and these are so much easier to whip up....and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were amazing! I did make a few changes though. Instead of 2 cups of chocolate chips I used 1 cup of chocolate chips plus 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and 1/2 cup of coconut. For the frosting I used the following recipe: Combine 1 egg (lightly beaten), 1- 5 ounce can of evaporated milk, 2/3 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup of butter in a saucepan. Cook and stir 10-12 minutes over medium-low heat until slightly thickened(don't turn the heat up too high or you could end up with some sweet scrambled eggs). Stir in 1 1/3 cup of coconut and at least 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. After the cookies are done I drizzle them with chocolate (chocolate chips in a Ziploc bag microwaved 20 seconds at a time until melted). Delicious and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made these cookies exactly how it says! Did Not over bake them, they were moist and gooey! Took them to a party and they were a huge hit! Making them all the time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a bit more coconut to the icing and a tad bit less choc. chips in the batter. Super tasty, huge chocolate flavour! I will make again... make with a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Perfect! I found this recipe doing an ingredient search, as I am down to bare bones. I didn't have Baking Soda, but they still turned out very well. My hubby is happily munching away on a warm one right now. Will def use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These cookies are really good! They taste like double chocolate chip cookies w/ German chocolate frosting. But, I didn't give 5 stars b/c they are really messy to eat and stick to my cookie sheets really bad. I prefer a cookie to be more portable. And, I like to bring cookies to gatherings to share, but with the frosting, they don't package well. But, like I said, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family loved these chewy cookies. The only thing I changed is I didn't make the homemade icing, instead I purchased the Betty Crocker pecan frosting that's already prepared (much cheaper and easier than buying the nuts and making it yourself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I read all the reviews and tried it. I could not understand why it did not hold shape or resemble a cookie. After I baked them, they crumbled, were pretty much flat and more like a fudge then a brownie cookie, I expected more of a brownie consistancy (half cookie half cake). I thought I made an error some where, forgot something for it to have turned out this badly (my taste buds though) I made this to give to give to a caregiver and had to hold it back. I wasted the chips. I'm going to have to see if I can give it away. I'm giving it a ** because the chips saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
mmmmm~~~~so good! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States