German Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Hi, I rated 3 stars for the cake itself but the frosting is more like 10 stars! I have a better German Chocolate Cake recipe but this is the frosting that I will use from now on! I toasted the pecans & coconut just a bit & oh my, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This cake was outstanding the day it was made and even better the next day! It was my husband's birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This cake was a big hit at work. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
AM-AZ-ING! I followed the recipe and directions exactly the way it says and it turned out perfectly! Very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Made this for my moms birthday and for my grandfather. They all say this is the best they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
not bad........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This cake was great! I think the frosting was its best feature. I followed the recipe word for word and the cake came out perfect. It was not dry, but crumbly like others have stated and I had trouble getting it off the wax paper. This has now become a family favorite and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent--my family thought it was the best cake they've ever tasted! The prep. time was longer than 25 minutes, since I toasted the coconut and the chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just excellent! A definate favorite in this house! Becel instead of butter and Partly skimmed evaporated milk worked well ( we have to be heart smart here). I deviated from baking instructions and poured into a greased, floured round cake pan. I don't recommend doing this, you need the waxed paper! I filled the holes with icing, so nobody knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Bar None, the best cake I ever had. i didn't think I would like the icing becausee I'm not a fan of the taste of condensed milk, but it was fantastic, and seem ed to get better each day that it lasted. Added to the family recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States