German Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
TO DIE FOR!! littlerly! a bit of a tip to make but dear god their good! i made it for my brother, but i think i ate more of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Amazing bars! I almost might say a tad too much caramel, but that might just be me. I also added about a cup of coconut to get German Chocolate taste, and they were divine! My hubby devoured 3/4 o the pan by the time I got home from work the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Excellent recipe. I have been asked by several people for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! However, a few adjustments need to made to the recipe to make it work. You need to use half of the can of condensed milk with the caramels and the other half with the cake mix. DON'T prepare the cake mix first, use the cake mix like flour for this recipe. And the butter should be melted, not softened. Also, baking it for 15 more minutes instead of 10 results in a more firm bar and not so gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe. I changed a few things though. I didn't add walnuts and instead of using a 13x9 pan I used a 8 x 11.5 2 quart baking dish instead. I also used a smaller bag of Werther's rather than the 14 ounces of caramels. I used half of the sweetened condensed milk with the cake mix and half of the can with the caramels. When the dessert comes out of the oven it will look like it isn't done. Let it sit for about 2 hours and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Oh-my-gosh good! These bars are easy but rich and delicious. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Of course these get five stars. Whats not to love about chocolate, caramel and ooey gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These bars taste fab!! The cake mix batter is more like the consistency of brownies –I pressed ½ of the mixture in the pan then baked it for 8 minutes. Instead of walnuts, I used pecans and I also added coconut which makes them stick together better. I crumbled the rest of the cake mixture on the top, and then used a piece of wax paper to spread it out a little bit. I also refrigerated them overnight –and brought then to room-temp before serving. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this for my kids to bring to school for ethnic day; their teacher said the kids wouldn't even try it, but she had two pieces and put the rest in the lunch room for the teachers and they were all gone by the end of the day. I even had 3 requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
These are really yummy as-is. However, they are more like turtle brownies. To make them actually taste like german chocolate bars, substitute pecans for the walnuts and add 1 cup of coconut. One point of clarification is needed in the recipe... The cake mix is to be used as flour, not made as directed on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States