German Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe has many mistakes! Is it condensed milk or sweetened condensed? It says one thing in the list of ingredients and another in the mixing directions. When you say "cover with caramel" you should specify how to do that! I put it on top and the middle of the cake fell in. Should it say ""drizzle" perhaps? Another baker said she pressed the lower cake layer down like a pie crust...is that what I should have done to stop the problem of the ruined cake? The cake is in the oven now and I hope it at least tastes good. Oh, also you show coconut in the picture...not in the list of ingredients. Wow, I think I just wasted a lot of time on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
heavy heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
good...too sweet for me. but very good according tothe other 5 or 6 folks that ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I have made these several times for parties and holidays, they are a hit every time!! I made as-is, used pecans instead of walnuts and added coconut. Friends and family LOVE, you will too. They are gooey and delicious, a must!! And super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
huge succes with this! as someone else said, half of the milk goes into the cake mix, the other half with the caramels. I didn't change a single thing and personally I find walnuts quite wonderful in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was going to make this for a potluck the other night, but didn't have enough time to get the few ingredients I was missing. When I got home I assessed what I did have and it somewhat resembled this recipe. However, everyone loved what I made, so I felt compelled to add it. Instead of a Cake mix, I used a Brownie mix. I followed the directions on the box, using 2 eggs instead of one, for a more cake-like brownie. I used about 3/4 can of the sweetened condensed milk and about 1/2 c of Peanut butter, heated on med in a saucepan. In the baking dish I layered 1/2 the brownie mix, then the peanut butter mixture, some shredded coconut and pecans. Then the remaining brownie mix. After it came out of the oven I drizzeled the remaining condensed milk. They were so good! Everyone loved them! I will still try out this recipe as written one day, it just sounds too good not to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These were pretty good, but too labor intensive to get a higher review. If you make them, toast the walnuts before baking. Note: this is more like a brownie, so don't sweat that you're not adding eggs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were really good brownies. Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was way too sweet for my liking. I followed the recipe as written and was disappointed, it just seemed like something was missing...coconut, maybe? I dunno. The consistency of the bars was off to me, too--the sugar was very grainy/crystallized or something. They would probably be better with homemade caramel, but not worth the effort to make again. Looks like I'm outnumbered, which is a first for me on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I liked it but I baked it for my German Chocolate Cake loving boyfriend and he didn't go crazy for it or anything. He did like that it had caramel though. But his friends devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chic Lil Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States