German Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
A few years ago I was trying to find something easy that my club in college could make for an upcoming organization fair in order to lure people to our table. I entered "german" and this popped up. Living in a dorm, I was looking for something easy to make and this was it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Excellent recipe. I have been asked by several people for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
I tried making this recipe by following the exact directions; something is missing. Do you make the cake mix as directed on the package first? If so, you should add this to the recipe. If not, it doesn't bake correctly and is all crumbly .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! However, a few adjustments need to made to the recipe to make it work. You need to use half of the can of condensed milk with the caramels and the other half with the cake mix. DON'T prepare the cake mix first, use the cake mix like flour for this recipe. And the butter should be melted, not softened. Also, baking it for 15 more minutes instead of 10 results in a more firm bar and not so gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
If you like ultra sweet, you'll love this. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe. I changed a few things though. I didn't add walnuts and instead of using a 13x9 pan I used a 8 x 11.5 2 quart baking dish instead. I also used a smaller bag of Werther's rather than the 14 ounces of caramels. I used half of the sweetened condensed milk with the cake mix and half of the can with the caramels. When the dessert comes out of the oven it will look like it isn't done. Let it sit for about 2 hours and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Oh-my-gosh good! These bars are easy but rich and delicious. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Of course these get five stars. Whats not to love about chocolate, caramel and ooey gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was good. I didn't understand the directions myself. I didn't mix the cake first..I used the mix as a "flour" . Hopefully that was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I mAde These Bars for A friend for a VERY big Gathering...Everybody LOVED them. One person at the party kept telling me how great they were, And right away asked for the recipe. I did however change it just a little i added 1/2 a cup of cream and 1/2 cup of water to the cake mix along with the butter and condensed milk otherwise it would have Been really dry.The results were Great..Thanks for Sharing this wonderfull recipe. I am sure it will be used quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States