German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
just came back from Germany ,and this is the real thing. everyone just loves them the best ever. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strabane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My husband is from Germany and gets home-sick at times. He often complains about Canadian buns... they are just not the same. So, to save myself having to hear the complaints, I tried this recipe. He was shocked! They are just like German buns. Now he eats them every morning with salami. I love them too! And they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Mine didn't rise much in the last rising but I think the error was mine. Great with soups or lunch meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
These were very good. My brother told me they tasted like rolls. Very much unlike the fresh brotchen we get from our bakery in town. Maybe it was because I cut the recipe in half or did'nt let them rise enough, I dont know. Maybe next time?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Well I've never had one of these before now, but they were great. I LOOVED the crunchy crust and soft inside. The flavor is very different...sort of like sourdough maybe. I didn't change anything in this recipe and they came out great. Perfect for making sandwhiches out of, or eating straigh from the oven (or both:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Grannie would be proud. They were in a word, PERFECT. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My dad was stationed the in army in Germany when I was growing up and I have missed the brotchen! These were very good! I followed the recipe as is, but I did mist water over the tops of them a couple of times while cooking. We grilled bratwurst and ate them on the brotchen! It was just like we were in Germany! I am going to make sandwhiches out of the rest and freeze them to save for later! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I followed this recipe to the letter of the law and they turned out PERFECTLY! Excellent for sandwiches, rolls, or just straight out of the oven with butter. If you use a dark pan, I would suggest reducing cooking time so as to not overcook>*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
They turned out great! Just for breakfast this morning I had one warmed with nutella like I used to when I was growing up in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I REALLY wanted these to taste like the rolls my "Oma" would walk to pick up every morning at her town bakery when we visited her in Germany...but I was sad that they didn't. They were okay...but definitely not like the brotchens I remember. I did the ice in the water trick, but the crust still wasn't like the crisp crusts in Germany. They were good rolls...but I didn't think they tasted close to authentic German brotchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States