German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These are amazing if you are looking for a good crusty roll. A little more complicated than the average roll, but worth the effort. The perfect acompaniment to Ham & bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very easy to make, slightly time consuming, but easy. I baked some of them for a little less time than the others and they were perfect for sandwiches or buns (if you make them large enough.) The ones that i baked longer went perfectly with dinner. Tasted great! Will for sure make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I just took a batch of these out of the oven. They are just what I was looking for. I am going to visit my in-laws next week and wanted something to make for them while I am there. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made these for our German food night at our Bible study and those that have been stationed there said these were absolutely "spot on"...the bread tastes like it came from a bakery...will make these from now on... great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These are amazing! My Family and friends couldn't get enough. The down side is they took a lot of time, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very light and airy. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Really fun to make and so delicious iz ridiculous!it takes a while and your tired afterwards but the reward is scrumptious! you can also cut them in half and toast them and put jam or butter on them and just...wow. great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Co-Co, Baker Woman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Love it! I haven't baked in 25 years and I was thrilled with the way these turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraV1976
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Although these were time consuming, due to the three risings, they turned out good. I was able to get a nice crust on mine with a soft center. The texture is softer than the brotchen that I recall in Gemany, but they are still good. I was able to cut this recipe in half without any trouble. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
The inside texture was good, but I think I'll need to tweak the baking instructions to suit my old temperamental gas oven in order to get the crunchy golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States