German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kaethe
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
It definitely takes some time to do, but it's worth it. I found that the rolls brown very quickly and didn't need the full 20 minutes, I took mine out at about 15-18 minutes and they were just right. My family loves them, and I'm sharing these with my German 2 class tomorrow! Two thumbs up(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I just tried these, and they are not even CLOSE to the "real deal".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Tasteless, but good texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
These are wonderful. I frequent a farmer's market in Bathurst NB Canada...whose German Frikadellen and Schnitzel are served on these buns with their homemade relish and hot mustard. Delish. These buns are the authentic taste I was looking for. Note...this recipe does make 24 buns. I thought that I would need extra dough for the sandwiches noted above, but not so. I elongated the dough the second batch and this gave me the correct dimensions. I made as recipe directed. Probably did not need the full 7 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I noticed a lot of people saying that the roll loses its crustiness after a day or so. Trick I learned from my German mom...run the frozen or day old roll under water (just lightly wet it, don't soak it) and pop in 400 degree oven for a few minutes. It will crust right back up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
To start, yes, I made some very minor changes--just two, in my case: 3 cups of the flour I used was King Arthur white whole wheat, and I made 32 rolls instead of 24. That said, it worked BEAUTIFULLY. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars rather than 5 is that it is a little too yeasty, flavor-wise; I'm going to try reducing the yeast to 1 1/2 tbsp in my next batch. Other than that, it's great. The outside is nice and chewy, the inside soft, and the flavor holds up both sharp cheese and good whole-grain mustard. They also taste absolutely awesome with butter and Nutella (yes, both--don't judge me). On a side note, I'm a little confused by those who say that it takes a long time--do you folks not regularly make yeast breads? Some of my regular recipes need to rise in the refrigerator overnight, so the fact that I was able to make the dough for this in about 20 minutes, and then have the rolls in the oven within 2 1/2 hours made the recipe seem really quick to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are pretty good but not brochen. But, having said that- the flour we use here in the states is NOT the same flour they use in Germany. I do not think you will get the same results with this. I noted several people who fixed the some issues. Water on the rolls- the egg-wash should have some water in it. Also the spongy-ness as they age is not common of brochen. Brochen gets harder and dried out -lol The rolls NEED to be sliced to bake properly. This is a lot of work, but anything worth doing probably is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Just made these... they are really good, and I will not pay $1 each at the German store ever again! Make sure you have a good pastry brush for the wash (I didn't)... makes them crunchy like the Germans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline Wood
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was delicious and much more crusty than I can get from the bakeries around where I live. I miss the brotchen I used to eat in Germany, and I think that it's hard to duplicate the flavors because the wild yeast strains in Germany are different than those in the states and even if you can get the same yeast strains, the local ones will eventually take over. Tip: I noticed in the pictures that many people trying this recipe did not slash the bread from one side to the other. For a more authentic looking brotchen, you should start at almost the bottom of the roll and slash all the way over to nearly the bottom on the other side; be very generous with the egg white too. Also the water in the bottom pan is critical. Bakeries use steam ovens, which helps keep the crust hard, but thin. Again, this was delicious and I'll use this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I let this sit an hour each time, they are so yummy, I make them all the time now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States