German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ~Plu~
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'm fairly new to bread making. These rolls came out AWESOME! I followed the instructions and they came out shiny with a nice crusty exterior and light fluffy interior. I will definitely make these again, it's totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I have not eaten these before, so I wasnt sure what they were suppose to taste like, but I made them for our "Oktoberfest" dinner and everyone gobbled them up. Someone brought some sort of raspberry jelly from Germany and they went very nicely together. As far as making them, well it wasn't difficult but it did take some time but so does everything else you make from scratch like this. Overall, I was very pleased with the results. They aren't something I would make on a regular basis but for a German type meal, they were perfect so I consider it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My Hungarian husband says perfect. MOST IMPORTANT CHANGE IS THAT I USED A BREAD MACHINE ON THE DOUGH SETTING. I made another tiny change which I will probably keep. I didn't have another egg for the egg wash, so I put about an 1/8 cup of milk and 2 T of butter in the dish that I had whipped the egg whites. Put the milk mixture in the microwave for 30 secs. Used this as my egg wash. First batch came out perfectly, the second batch came out with a crusty crust like "Au Petit Pan." Both were "flawless," according to husband and son. They want me to start making these every day we are in the US. I didn't find this any more labor intensive than any other bread or roll recipe on this site, but I did use the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I am German and a Broetchen lover, so I had high hopes for this recipe. I made only half of the recipe, but otherwise followed it. It was a lot f work! The texture and taste turned out pretty good, and quite German, but they don't look very German and you have to leave them in the oven until they are dark to get them to be "knusprig" (=crunchy). I took my first batch out of the oven when it had the golden color (20 min) but they were too soft. The second batch I left in 23 min and they turned out much nicer. Not sure if I'll make them again (they were a lot of work, and similar to the take and bake ones from my grocery store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Much like the real thing. No need to change much of anything. I do heat the oven at 500 and add lots of steam for the first 10 minutes. I do not use egg on the tops, I use oil. This combo makes the bread crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Since I found this recipe I have stopped using all other German Brotchen recipes, and I have made this at least 2-3 times per month for the last couple years. It is my family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My husband's Mom is Dutch and spent his first 3 years in the ARMY in Germany, and much of his childhood in the Netherlands. We visit Europe quite often and are huge fans of Brotchen. After our last trip (Jul '09), I decided I needed to get a good recipe for brotchen. We bought some from the Commissary Bakery (which makes a pretty good version), but I couldn't handle my family consuming all that white flour and other additives. Yes, I am one of those who mills her own wheat and makes her own bread. This recipe is incredible and my husband was so suprised by how authentic the rolls taste. One of my best friends is German and lives across the street and said that they taste authentic. So this recipe is the best and you can't go wrong with it. I used soft white wheat for my rolls. I will try to attach a photo. Thanks MATBELET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were amazing rolls! Not quite what I remember from my time in Germany. I think the brotchen I had there was made with rye or something because they were more "tart" other than that the rolls on their own are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wonderful and VERY easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Warfield
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I was also born in Germany, and like Schwabengirl said, they are not 100% legit,but pretty close. They are good right after you make them, but they start to lose the harder crust and get more spongy after 1 or 2 days. So, if you make them, eat them right after you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Warfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I was born and raised in Germany and they are not quite like the Broetchen in Germany but pretty darn good. Even after freezing and reheating in the oven they tasted good. A keeper for sure. The kids love them too. So they will be a staple in my house. I used them as hamburger and hot dog buns - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States