German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Pretty good! 3 stars for original recipe. Next time I made it I'd say it was 4 stars: I used a 12 inch skillet so I used 4 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour, 1 tablespoon cinnamon sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Same amount of butter and powdered sugar. It was still a little bland--but still good. I think I'd add more cinnamon next time, and maybe some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swaswa
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is a great basic recipe! I made it this morning, and it was quick, easy, and yummy. The only thing I will try next time is adding a wee bit more flour, as it was rather eggy, and some salt/sugar or maybe even some dried herbs for flavour, as this is pretty bland. At the same time, it still deserves 5 stars because it works out, and allows for creative changes according to your personal taste. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I used a glass pie pan instead of a cast iron skillet, and it worked great. The fluffy, eggy texture was a big hit with the kids, and it was very easy to make. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I just made this for the kids and I and it is delicious. I increased to 4 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour, as my skillet is a little bigger. I also used half all purpose white and half wholemeal to make it a little more nutritious. It didn't really collapse after taking it out of the oven. but was absolutely delicious. Would serve about 4 people, I think. I think next time I would add a Tablespoon of sugar to the batter and put the apples on the bottom of the pan to make this even more delicious (if that's even possible). Thanks for sharing. I am German and had never even heard of a German Baby before. EDIT: I made this again on Sunday. When my daughter heard that I was making another "giant pancake", she got very excited. This time I added 1Tbsp sugar and a pinch of salt to the mix. I sliced and chopped 2 apples and laid them into the bottom of the dish with the butter and a small handful of sultanas. I sprinkled this with another Tablespoon of sugar and some cinnamon and placedd it in the oven while pre-heating for about 10 minutes. Then I poured the batter on top and baked for 20 minutes as per recipe. I served it with a little more cinnamon sugar. This was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One word, delicious! This was so easy to make. I followed the directions. Mine was completely cooked within 15 mins. though. My son is a picky eater, he loved this. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
So easy and tasty! I baked mine in a glass pie dish and it was excellent (and so much easier to clean than the similar popovers I make in muffin tins). It's fun to watch it rise so high in the oven, and I really like the tender eggy center. My kids thought it was delicious with powdered sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
SO HAPPY to have found this recipe!! This is by far my favorite breakfast dish... I use only 2 eggs, add maybe a tablespoon of sugar, a capful of vanilla extract, and leave the rest the same as the directions. In my opinion, the ONLY way to eat it is top with lots of powdered sugar & lemon juice. AND HOLY COW - DO NOT warm the eggs and milk!! It does NOT come out right! Whoever said that obviously has no idea how this is supposed to turn out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Cast-iron skillet is a must. I added some vanilla extract for flavor...and the oven temperature seems to vary from 400-425 (depending on the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLYFAE
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was fantastic! I made it for the first time this morning - it turned out perfectly. I can't believe the impressive results for such an easy recipe. I warmed the eggs under hot water and microwaved the milk as suggested in another review. I baked for 20 minutes at 425 - perfect. My kids thought it was too eggy - were expecting something more like a pancake I think - I wasn't bothered at all by it. Will make again... and again... and again... can't wait to try with fruit on top or apples on bottom of the pan like I read in another review. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These are a childhood favorite for me. My Swedish grandmother taught me to make this dish that we call "Dutch Babies." We top ours with lemon juice and dust with powdered sugar. If you divide the recipe into muffin cups, they come out as cute little puffs that are less eggy in the middle and scream, "fill me with fruit!" Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States