German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
When I lived in Portland Oregon I made this recipe quite a few times and it always turned out perfect. Recently we moved to Arizona, and I have made it twice and both times it didn't rise at all...looked more like flat cornbread. I'm sure the change in altitude (going from 500 to 3500 feet) has something to do with it. Does anyone have any tips about making this at a higher altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Since I make this almost once a week for me and my husband, I'd love to give it 5 stars. Since I have add to it so I can't quite. I don't really measure anything I add....1 pinch salt (helps with the rise), a little vanilla, a little sugar, dash of nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon. I've added various fruits and pecans. Everything works well except blueberries. Recommended as a great base recipe. Easier than pancakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I had seen a dutch baby on TV and so wanted to try one. This was the easiest ever and everyone loved it. I've been making them at least once a month for bout 8 months. I make a fruit topping with a bag og frozen mixed berries and 1/2 cup of sugar and about 1/4 cup water and cook down till thickens up. Kids love it over their babies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huffman, Texas, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little sugar, when I served, I dusted with powdered sugar, used fresh blueberries or blackberries and maple syrup! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I liked this recipe because it only requires three eggs, just enough for my hubby and myself. I baked it in a cast iron skillet and served it with rhubarb strawberry sauce, as we have rhubarb growing in the garden. I am glad to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
great recipe didn't change a thing just added cinnamon after i took it out of the oven and it was awesome... thanks Shirley :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly K

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I ended up baking this in an 8x8 square pan. I also added 2 tsp sugar, cap full of vanilla along with cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The Dutch Baby has been in my family for years. We love it. Served with power sugar and lemon, or jam, or mable syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I warmed up the eggs and milk as suggested in other reviews, and also added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I warmed up the pan with butter in the oven while making the batter, dumped the batter in, and it came out perfect in 16 minutes! Served with lemon and powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States