German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Really fast, easy and not too sweet. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Great with sweeened fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is great! A memory from my childhood of a restaurant breakfast treat where they called it a "Dutch Baby". My cast iron skillet is only 9" rather than 10" so I ended up having to add about 7 more minutes to the baking time to compensate for the batter being less spread out in the smaller pan. I would have found the eggy-ness VERY unappealing if I'd taken it out at 20 minutes! The edges didn't burn, so it worked out fine. After cooking, I filled the pancake with cooked pork link sausages and sauteed apples with lemon wedges, maple syrup and powdered sugar on the side. It made a quick and different easy dinner. I think the batter could have used a speck of salt to it, but that is my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was very yummy! I added some sugar and a dash of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. There was a diner that used to serve this dish in my hometown. Every time we went I would order this. I was so excited to find a recipe for it. It tastes just like I remember! I ate the whole thing myself, and then had to make another one for my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orting, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
MMMM! I used to eat this at a friend's house when I was little. We called it "baby dutch," but it is the same delicious dish. I like to squeeze fresh lime or lemon juice over the top before sprinkling the powdered sugar on for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was great! While it was cooking I warmed up some strawberries, bananas, & pineapple in a non-stick skillet with a 1 tbl. butter & 1/4 cup brown sugar. Topped the servings of the "pancake" with that and then added some light whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. The only suggestion I would have would be to use unsalted butter. The salted butter gave it more of a savory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROGIRL42
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yummy! Better than the restaurant that serves this by my house. I had a craving for a German Apple (it's a German Baby with apples), but I didn't want to have to go out. I substitued for what I had in my kitchen: Smart Balance for butter, soy milk for regular milk, and a square, 8.5" pan. I think the soy milk made it fluff up more. It was all fluff actually (no custardy center). The only thing I would change is to use a non-stick pan. I did the traditional lemon, maple, powdered-sugar topping. It was delicious. I submitted some photos. Next time I may add some granny-smith apples sliced thinly to the bottom of the pan to get the German Apple taste. I just didn't want to experiment too much the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was gooood... I topped this with flambeed bananas and toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is an AWESOME recipe. Its perfect with lemon and powdered sugar. I didn't have a cast iron skillet, I just used a 9" square cake pan and it turned out great. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Well, I guess this turned out like it was supposed to. I served it w/ sweetened strawberries, lemon, and maple syrup and we weren't too impressed. I won't make this again. The recipe turned out like it was supposed to I think. I made it because I thought it looked neat and tasty, but since I have never had it before, it's hard to rate based on any comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very yummy! I added 1/3 C pecan pieces. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States