German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I used a glass pie pan instead of a cast iron skillet, and it worked great. The fluffy, eggy texture was a big hit with the kids, and it was very easy to make. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I just made this for the kids and I and it is delicious. I increased to 4 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour, as my skillet is a little bigger. I also used half all purpose white and half wholemeal to make it a little more nutritious. It didn't really collapse after taking it out of the oven. but was absolutely delicious. Would serve about 4 people, I think. I think next time I would add a Tablespoon of sugar to the batter and put the apples on the bottom of the pan to make this even more delicious (if that's even possible). Thanks for sharing. I am German and had never even heard of a German Baby before. EDIT: I made this again on Sunday. When my daughter heard that I was making another "giant pancake", she got very excited. This time I added 1Tbsp sugar and a pinch of salt to the mix. I sliced and chopped 2 apples and laid them into the bottom of the dish with the butter and a small handful of sultanas. I sprinkled this with another Tablespoon of sugar and some cinnamon and placedd it in the oven while pre-heating for about 10 minutes. Then I poured the batter on top and baked for 20 minutes as per recipe. I served it with a little more cinnamon sugar. This was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One word, delicious! This was so easy to make. I followed the directions. Mine was completely cooked within 15 mins. though. My son is a picky eater, he loved this. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyles mom
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
So easy and tasty! I baked mine in a glass pie dish and it was excellent (and so much easier to clean than the similar popovers I make in muffin tins). It's fun to watch it rise so high in the oven, and I really like the tender eggy center. My kids thought it was delicious with powdered sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
SO HAPPY to have found this recipe!! This is by far my favorite breakfast dish... I use only 2 eggs, add maybe a tablespoon of sugar, a capful of vanilla extract, and leave the rest the same as the directions. In my opinion, the ONLY way to eat it is top with lots of powdered sugar & lemon juice. AND HOLY COW - DO NOT warm the eggs and milk!! It does NOT come out right! Whoever said that obviously has no idea how this is supposed to turn out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Cast-iron skillet is a must. I added some vanilla extract for flavor...and the oven temperature seems to vary from 400-425 (depending on the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLYFAE
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was fantastic! I made it for the first time this morning - it turned out perfectly. I can't believe the impressive results for such an easy recipe. I warmed the eggs under hot water and microwaved the milk as suggested in another review. I baked for 20 minutes at 425 - perfect. My kids thought it was too eggy - were expecting something more like a pancake I think - I wasn't bothered at all by it. Will make again... and again... and again... can't wait to try with fruit on top or apples on bottom of the pan like I read in another review. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These are a childhood favorite for me. My Swedish grandmother taught me to make this dish that we call "Dutch Babies." We top ours with lemon juice and dust with powdered sugar. If you divide the recipe into muffin cups, they come out as cute little puffs that are less eggy in the middle and scream, "fill me with fruit!" Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Maybe 3 1/2 stars. I'm not sure what I think of this. It was SO easy to make, but mine didn't rise and fall like it was supposed to. This was bland tasting, so I guess what makes it good is what you put on it. I put powdered sugar and syrup on mine and it was pretty tasty. I liked the chewy / crispy texture. My son who doesn't like eggs was not fooled by all the syrup I poured on his. He wouldn't eat more than a couple of bites. I might make this again just because it's so fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Fantastic, easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States