German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this, I tried it in a 12" cast iron skillet I had put on my wedding registry. Not a good idea unless you are going to increase the amount of batter you use. That extra 2" adds nearly 50% more surface area to the pan, and the batter needs the edge of the pan in order to rise. After a little research, I found out that an old cast iron skillet is far better than anything you can find in a retail store, so my husband picked up a very lightly rusted 10" Griswold at an "antique fair" for $12 and I just finished restoring it. I didn't read the reviews, so I didn't change a thing about the batter, the only thing I did change was to use only approximately half of the butter. It turned out perfectly puffed and golden-brown. I took it out of the oven at 18 minutes because I was afraid it would get too well done, but that could just be my oven. I served it with some left-over lemon filling from my lemon tea cookies (don't think that recipe is on this site...) and it was amazing! Next time I'll try adding a bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It's an easy yummy recipe, we used to eat it every sunday in Germany. Germans don't use lemon juice as a topping, they use cinnamon sugar. I prefer mine with baked apples and cinnamon sugar on top. In the winter season I let the apple soak in Amaretto for a couple of hours, than top it with whip cream. It so delicious it melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Double batch-Keep 2nd one in jar refrigerated for later ...works well w/All fruits heated up ...Girls love it, usually no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWMETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Now my kids want this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I grew up with these "Dutch Babies" and there is nothing better! My aunt and uncle got the recipe from the owners of the Original Pancake House (Portland) and they can't be beat. Try them with some sauted apples in butter and cinnamon with a tiny bit of cornstarch to thicken and it is even more heavenly! Or go with the original lemon juice and powered sugar, either way you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Yummy. Its a big fat crepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
We liked this! Easy and a great treat when you add a warmed fruit compote. I topped mine with the powdered sugar and a generous helping of a blueberry sauce I whipped up using frozen blueberries. Topped with whipped cream. The second one I made seemed a little more "eggy" tasting than the first, not sure what happened there. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made this and loved it. What a delicious taste. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I will certainly make this again but decrease butter by a little bit just to make it a little healthier. Otherwise this was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Thank you for sharing this easy, quick and fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States