German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great for a quick and easy family breakfast with a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I make my dutch babies in pyrex dishes, the larger individual ones. So much easier to serve each one their own. Melt the butter just like the iron skillet. 400 degrees for 30 minutes. They really puff up and guests can see the in the glass in the oven, fun. Served best with warm frozen berries. This way you can increase the proportions for more. I use Almond Milk and soy and find no difference. I even used Almond Flour last time since we are all gluten free in my family. It was very tasty, a little less light. Added flax meal also to make the whole thing more nutritious, well, all raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good. I wish my skillet were bigger because it seemed thicker than what I have had in restaurants. Still, it was delicious and TOTALLY filling (served 2). YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe but mine did not rise at all. I must of did something wrong. Plus I lowered the temp as nicksprincess suggested and it still overcooked. The edge was really brown and hard the taste was really rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this, I tried it in a 12" cast iron skillet I had put on my wedding registry. Not a good idea unless you are going to increase the amount of batter you use. That extra 2" adds nearly 50% more surface area to the pan, and the batter needs the edge of the pan in order to rise. After a little research, I found out that an old cast iron skillet is far better than anything you can find in a retail store, so my husband picked up a very lightly rusted 10" Griswold at an "antique fair" for $12 and I just finished restoring it. I didn't read the reviews, so I didn't change a thing about the batter, the only thing I did change was to use only approximately half of the butter. It turned out perfectly puffed and golden-brown. I took it out of the oven at 18 minutes because I was afraid it would get too well done, but that could just be my oven. I served it with some left-over lemon filling from my lemon tea cookies (don't think that recipe is on this site...) and it was amazing! Next time I'll try adding a bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It's an easy yummy recipe, we used to eat it every sunday in Germany. Germans don't use lemon juice as a topping, they use cinnamon sugar. I prefer mine with baked apples and cinnamon sugar on top. In the winter season I let the apple soak in Amaretto for a couple of hours, than top it with whip cream. It so delicious it melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Double batch-Keep 2nd one in jar refrigerated for later ...works well w/All fruits heated up ...Girls love it, usually no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWMETZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Now my kids want this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I grew up with these "Dutch Babies" and there is nothing better! My aunt and uncle got the recipe from the owners of the Original Pancake House (Portland) and they can't be beat. Try them with some sauted apples in butter and cinnamon with a tiny bit of cornstarch to thicken and it is even more heavenly! Or go with the original lemon juice and powered sugar, either way you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States