German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
mmmmm! so tasty! i like to add 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter and throw some blueberries on top after ive poured the batter into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITHRAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
We are officially addicted to this recipe. Everyone in the family loves this buttery wonder. You can make it healthier by substituting 1/2 c ww, 1/4 c white flour, and adding flax seed. We like adding sugar, vanilla and cinnamon for extra yumminess. The cast iron pan is great for this, and so easy to clean up. Don't skimp on the butter. I tried to make it healthier by using less than 1/4 c of butter, and it tasted bland. The butter in the correct amount will coat the centre of the baby and is essential for proper eating pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Fantastically easy! Chewy goodness! It definitely helped to have a cast iron skillet, and I just tossed in the butter, heated it up in the oven for, I dunno, 20 minutes or so, and whisked up the batter and dumped it in. 20 more minutes and it looked even BETTER than the picture. Sorry, I can't take a picture of it now. I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicksprincess
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Okay, first time I made this I followed other suggestions--I warmed the milk and eggs and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 2 tbsp powdered sugar. I preheated oven to 425 and put the butter in the pan. This first one only took 13 minutes to cook and even then it was slightly burning and seemed uneven...but it was still good. So then I made another one, and this time I didn't warm the milk and eggs, I only added the vanilla and not the powdered sugar. Also, most IMPORTANTLY, I reduced my oven to 400 and warmed the skillet without the butter. Once the batter was done, I added the butter, kept the pan in the oven for a minute or so, then took the pan out and added the batter. It baked for about 18-19 minutes and it was perfectly puffed and golden brown. It was PERFECT this second time around!! I submitted a photo for reference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was fantastic! I didn't have any powdered sugar on hand, so I just added some vanilla extract and a bit of white sugar. I topped it with maple syrup, and mmmm so delicious! My boyfriend really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My husband loved this... took him back to childhood xoxox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was perfect- nice, crusty and buttery on top, and smooth and custardy inside. I used a 9-inch pie pan, and a little whole-wheat pastry flour. My husband and I really enjoyed it this Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Growing up, we called this dish "Puffed Pancakes," and the recipe was slightly different...thinner and a little crisp on the bottom rather than custard-like with this recipe. Also, as a child we would put a lot of fruit on the pancake. We would cut up bananas, buy fresh blueberries, strawberries, cut up pineapple, and any other fruits that sounded good. We would also use sour cream, brown sugar, coconut, and any other items like that. They ended up being a big meal on top of one piece of the Puffed Pancake! I submitted a picture of how we made them today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adreams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I had never had a German Baby before, I made this for my family and when I tell you everyone loved this even my 3year old. I did add a few things like I put 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract,2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, about 1/4 cup of sugar and then I put my maple syrup while still hot I didn't put the powder sugar because I felt like it was already sweet with me putting the sugar in the batter, because of the maple syrup on top but next time I will add some peaches or strawberries. Oh so good kind of tasted like a big French Toast whitout all the work I will make this again and again and a again that how good this was .....Thanks to you a lot for posting this recipes I give this 100 stars. Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a lighter and fluffier version than similar "6 egg" recipes--our family liked this one better so we're switching. However, this is easier when mixed in a blender, and cooked in a 9X13 pan (just drop butter in pan, place in oven, pull out and swirl to coat, then add blended mixture) for the 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States