German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
The best way I can describe this is kind of like dough-y eggs. I guess the recipe is fine, but I just don't think I'm a big fan of this particular food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I liked this, my husband not as much. I made it exactly as the recipe said. Next time I'll try adding vanilla and cinnamon as so many others suggested and maybe some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was looking through some recipes for something a little different to surprise my wife. Wow did I find it! I thought it was like a combination waffle, souffle, funnel cake, and a pancake. My only problem was that I had an eight inch and a fourteen inch cast iron pan. I used the eight inch pan. I had to keep adding to the cooking time and the edges were a little too crispy. To tell you the truth the thing was down right ugly when completed. We really didn't care, one taste and the aesthetics were out the window. One of the best recipes I have made in recent memory, and I have been cooking for forty years. Next time I'm going to try to scale the recipe for the fourteen inch pan and see what happens. I did add a half tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butchman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Made this for the first time yesterday and my picky kids LOVED it!! I did add about 1/2tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla to the recipe. Easy fast and delicious : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Ohhhhhhhhhh soooooooooooo goooooooooooooood... Tasted kinda like a funnel cake with the powdered sugar on top. I used Pam spray instead of butter to cut back on fat, and I added vanilla and a smidge of salt. Next time I may try a little cinnamon... And by next time, I mean tomorrow! I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very yummy. Buttery and soft. I added a tiny bit of vanilla, and we ate it with cranberry reduction, strawberry jam, and powdered sugar, depending on each person's taste. It was still very tasty alone, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I've never had a german baby before, but we thought it tasted like thick scrambled eggs. Probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Yum! I've always heard this called a "Dutch baby" - my sister first introduced me to this at a breakfast restaurant near her home in Vegas. I was so excited to try this recipe! Thank you so much to SemantiTheft who advised warming your eggs and milk - I did, and it puffed like crazy! I don't have a microwave right now, so I just put a few inches of hot water in the sink and put the eggs and the big measuring cup of milk in there while the oven was preheating. Worked like a charm!I also add a capful of baker's vanilla - clear instead of brown; won't darken the color of the batter - into the milk. Adds a tiny hint of sweetness which I like. This was so easy, and so much fun to watch while it's in the oven - and really fun to eat, too! I don't have a cast iron skillet, so I just used my regular (oven proof) pan the same size, and it worked just fine! I used margarine instead of butter, and the edges seem to be a little salty, so I think I'll try unsalted butter next time, but completely delicious even so! I debate reducing the butter every time, but I think those little pools in the middle are part of the magic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Perfect, exactly the way they should be. Using the skillet in the oven gave them a nice crispy outside, and they still kept that wonderful crepey inside. A hit with the whole family and an easy, quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Easy to make and delicious - my kids loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States