German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This reminds me of a giant popover, it was easy to make. I warmed my eggs and milk a bit while my calphalon pan heated in the oven with the butter. I also added a splash of vanilla. I enjoyed it with a splash of lemon juice and powdered sugar. My daughter used maple syrup. We both loved it. A nice and easy, and very different breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Yummy! Followed the ingredients exactly. I didn't have a cast iron skillet so I melted the butter in the bottom of a cake pan. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChowHound
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This recipe was incredibly easy and the results were great! I followed the directions except I spaced it and put the cold milk in with the eggs. It still came out well! I sprinkled a little coarse sea salt over the top before topping with confectioner's sugar and lemon juice. Mmmmm. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy. Like the Original Pancake House...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Incredible. Did it in my cast iron skillet, let it cook a little too long, but it's okay, as the crunchy parts soaked up the sauce I made. I melted some butter, sauteed a sliced Pink Lady apple in the butter with a touch of cinnamon and a tablespoon or two of brown sugar. This recipe is fabulous and easy; it uses ingredients I always have around the kitchen so it's a super go-to for the day we don't make it to the grocery store or lack energy to make dinner an all-out production. Enthusiastically recommended by an 8 year old, for what that's worth! I simply don't understand why anyone would go out to order this at the markup that's usually charged when this is so simple and frugal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simply amazing! It doesn't get easier than this. I did almost everything "wrong" and still got perfect results. I don't have a cast iron skillet. I baked my in a large round ceramic baking dish. I didn't warm the ingredients first. I finished the batter before the oven was ready so it sat for several minutes. It still came out perfect. The presentation is beautiful. It looks like you have been slaving away. My mother absolutely loves the "dutch baby" from the Original Pancake House. This is a total knock off. It was awesome to be able to make this for her over the holidays. She said she liked mine even better than the restaurants. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
So easy, and wonderful with powdered sugar. Took advice of a bit of vanilla, and warmed the eggs and milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Yum!!! Where have these been all my life? I loved the variation in each bite. Some bites were buttery, some sweet, some salty, some fluffy, some crunchy. I added 1 t vanilla, 1 t powdered sugar, and a pinch of salt. I also used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I am looking forward to eating these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Make two if you have a big family, one German Baby isn't enough to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
after making this once it has become a favorite in my home. this recipe is similar to the 'danish oven pancake' recipe but i prefer this one because i can add anything i want. some mornings its blueberries and powdered sugar and sometimes its apples and cinnamon, other days i add aidells roasted red pepper and corn sausage!! so good! my son asks when we go to the grocery store if we need to buy the stuff "to eat a baby german" i always wonder what people around us are thinking i feed my kids ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States