German Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I did not enjoy this at all!!!!!!! The dough was impossible to work with, and was rock hard when it came out of the oven, Not to mention that the poppyseeds where disgusting. (although I should have known better) I didn't see how it could possibly taste good. Oh well, you win some you lose some! Thanks for the recipe anyways, I guess I am just a little bitter because I made it for a dinner party and it did not go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
For Oktoberfest, I wanted real apfel strudel, not something made with a box cake mix. This recipe was straightforward and easy to do. Peeling 9 small apples took awhile, but hey! I wanted authentic. I only used about 2/3 c water to make the dough. More would have been too sticky and hard to roll. Be sure to chop the apples so that they roll up evenly in the thin dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Ground poppy seeds is a popular ingredient in European recipies. Millions of people love it, so trust me, be a little open-minded and try it! Lots of delicious filling and very small amount of pastry. Sounds good to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I also wanted a authentic German Apfel Strudel, and because I was making enough to serve about 60 people I wanted something easy! I substituted raisins for the poppy seed, but it turned out great!!!! Will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Total failure! The dough came out like concrete, and there was WAY too much filling for the amount of dough. It would be nice if the recipe specified how much in quantity (in cups) of apples, instead of number. Maybe there is more to this than the recipe says because this didn't turn out at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Lots of time an effort yielded a miserable result. The dough was, as another reviewer said, impossible to work with and hard as a rock when cooked. The ratio of filling to dough was also way off. Skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a great dessert! Please take note, since I grew up on this stuff I know that Poppy Seed Strudel is supposed to be more like a cookie. I have never eaten strudel with a fork! I guess If I tried I would say it was hard. We would cut them into slices about three quarter inch thick and stack them on a big plate in the middle of the table and everybody would take what they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is not apple strudel this is Monkuchen. You can buy them prepackaged at the grocery store in Switzerland. They freeze well. I was an aupair there for a year. They always had it for Nueni (their nine o'clock coffee and sweets ritual).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This isnt authentic Apfel Strudel by any stretch of the imagination. It is a recipe for apple /poppy roll or even Mohn Kuchen or even apple cake but definitely not an authentic apple strudel. It looks good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe is nothing like traditional Strudel. This looked more like Polish Makownik but with apples, so I tried it out. The dough came out tougher than expected. Maybe because of the altitude I'm at? I'll tinker with the flour to water ratio next time.... I'll leave out the apples and cinnamon and replace with raisins and almond flavor maybe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States