German Apple Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is the best apple dessert I have found. If you're tired of apple crisp or apple pie then definitely try this one. I used sweet apples so I reduced the sugar in the cake to 3/4 cup and omitted the raisins in the topping but kept them in the cake. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
PHENOMENAL! I was so skeptical when mixing the batter- I had diced 3 small granny smith apples and it seemed the batter was mostly apple with very little dough. I told my husband dessert was going to be crappy. Let me just say I was so wrong! It was nothing to look at when it came out of the oven, but with that frosting (don't skip the frosting!) it was so delicious. It was the two of us and the pan was gone in 24 hours. I would make this again, especially for morning coffee- it's just as good out of the fridge as it is out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
All I have to say is wow! This cake is delicious. I used red harry & david apples and it came out wonderful. I was fearful it was going to turn out like a fruit cake but I added the full amt of walnuts and raisins anyway. The topping is the best part so do not skip it! I followed someone's suggestion and only used a 1/4 cup of each sugar. I believe it would overpower the taste of the apples otherwise. I thought the amt of butter in the topping was unnecessary so I only used a 1/4 cup. Pour all of the topping onto the cake. It tastes great warm and even better once it sets. A day later and there's only one piece left. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Oh my gosh, this is good! It's so easy to make, and so chewy and good! I cut back a little on the sugar in the sauce, other than that, made it just as is. Perfect with hot coffee and vanilla ice cream. This is worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This cake is great. Here are my hints: First, dice the apples. Second, to make this cake in a 9 x 13 pan, double the "cake" part and 1 1 /2 times the icing. This takes care of the icing being too sweet or overpowering. This cake can easily be made vegan by subbing in soy milk for milk and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this dessert for a German party and it was a huge hit! I doubled the cake and used a 9x13 pan. I made 1 1/2 times the glaze and it was perfect. Don't scrimp on the walnuts and raisins, even if it seems like too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I wanted to use up some left over Granny smiths and thought this recipe sounded good. We had it for dessert tonight and it's almost been eaten already! I did not even make the topping, but it was still wonderful. Simple, light, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good cake, nice and moist. I soaked the raisins first to plump them up. For the topping, I mixed a can of swetened condensed milk with a little cinnamon and finely chopped walnuts and poured it over the still hot cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! The cake is incredibly easy to make, and the moisture and flavor is incredible! I wouldn't change a thing! I used a crisp apple like Graventstein (German, of course) and it tasted amazing! I would stick to the square baking dish, though--it is so rich, you can serve small pieces and people will still enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States