German Apple Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is very good. My mom LOVED it! I will make a couple changes next time I make it. For the sauce, I'll cut down on the amount of sugar, maybe 1/4 c. instead of 1/2 c. Because although the sauce is very good, the sweetness of it overpowered the cake, and I couldn't even taste the apples. I also think I'll reduce the cinnamon from 1 1/2 t. to just 1 t. Plus, I would suggest adding a dollip of whip cream to the individual slices or serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. To cut some of the sweetness of the cake. This one goes in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
All I have to say is wow! This cake is delicious. I used red harry & david apples and it came out wonderful. I was fearful it was going to turn out like a fruit cake but I added the full amt of walnuts and raisins anyway. The topping is the best part so do not skip it! I followed someone's suggestion and only used a 1/4 cup of each sugar. I believe it would overpower the taste of the apples otherwise. I thought the amt of butter in the topping was unnecessary so I only used a 1/4 cup. Pour all of the topping onto the cake. It tastes great warm and even better once it sets. A day later and there's only one piece left. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This cake is great. Here are my hints: First, dice the apples. Second, to make this cake in a 9 x 13 pan, double the "cake" part and 1 1 /2 times the icing. This takes care of the icing being too sweet or overpowering. This cake can easily be made vegan by subbing in soy milk for milk and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very easy to make. It is fabulous but the icing is too sweet. Use Granny Smiths which not only hold their shape but add some tartness. The icing is important and shouldn't be skipped, but reducing it by half wouldn't be a bad idea. Plumping the raisins is nice and not mincing or chopping the apples too fine is good for texture. The icing does set and the next day it is firmer. Overall not expensive to make and absolutely worth making a second time, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margreat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ostrander, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this dessert for a German party and it was a huge hit! I doubled the cake and used a 9x13 pan. I made 1 1/2 times the glaze and it was perfect. Don't scrimp on the walnuts and raisins, even if it seems like too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is the best apple dessert I have found. If you're tired of apple crisp or apple pie then definitely try this one. I used sweet apples so I reduced the sugar in the cake to 3/4 cup and omitted the raisins in the topping but kept them in the cake. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
PHENOMENAL! I was so skeptical when mixing the batter- I had diced 3 small granny smith apples and it seemed the batter was mostly apple with very little dough. I told my husband dessert was going to be crappy. Let me just say I was so wrong! It was nothing to look at when it came out of the oven, but with that frosting (don't skip the frosting!) it was so delicious. It was the two of us and the pan was gone in 24 hours. I would make this again, especially for morning coffee- it's just as good out of the fridge as it is out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I doubled the cake recipe for a 9 x 13 and 1/2 times the recipe for the "icing". Very good, Yummy with vanilla ice cream! I made it for a party and it was a hit. A heavy dessert eat a light dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I've made lots of cakes from Allrecipes.com and this one is amazingly great! I didn't know what to expect based on the picture but mine was beautiful. The caramel-like topping was a little more than I needed- I had leftovers. I used walnut halves sprinkled over the cake and poured the sauce over them. I used apple pie mixed spices instead of just cinnamon. I left out the raisins since I'm not a big fan, but it was just wonderful tasting and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed the suggestions of several reviewers and I reduced the sugar to 3/4 and the cinnamon to 1 t in the cake. I also halved the topping. Next time I would also leave out the raisins in both the cake and the topping. The cake is already very sweet and I don't think it needs the additional sweetness of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States