German Apple Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is very good. My mom LOVED it! I will make a couple changes next time I make it. For the sauce, I'll cut down on the amount of sugar, maybe 1/4 c. instead of 1/2 c. Because although the sauce is very good, the sweetness of it overpowered the cake, and I couldn't even taste the apples. I also think I'll reduce the cinnamon from 1 1/2 t. to just 1 t. Plus, I would suggest adding a dollip of whip cream to the individual slices or serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. To cut some of the sweetness of the cake. This one goes in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I wanted to use up some left over Granny smiths and thought this recipe sounded good. We had it for dessert tonight and it's almost been eaten already! I did not even make the topping, but it was still wonderful. Simple, light, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
PHENOMENAL! I was so skeptical when mixing the batter- I had diced 3 small granny smith apples and it seemed the batter was mostly apple with very little dough. I told my husband dessert was going to be crappy. Let me just say I was so wrong! It was nothing to look at when it came out of the oven, but with that frosting (don't skip the frosting!) it was so delicious. It was the two of us and the pan was gone in 24 hours. I would make this again, especially for morning coffee- it's just as good out of the fridge as it is out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Really good dessert. The method is unusual but it works like a charm. I reduced the sugar in the cake and sauce. Next time I'm going to bake for 35 min., my oven must be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This cake is great. Here are my hints: First, dice the apples. Second, to make this cake in a 9 x 13 pan, double the "cake" part and 1 1 /2 times the icing. This takes care of the icing being too sweet or overpowering. This cake can easily be made vegan by subbing in soy milk for milk and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
All I have to say is wow! This cake is delicious. I used red harry & david apples and it came out wonderful. I was fearful it was going to turn out like a fruit cake but I added the full amt of walnuts and raisins anyway. The topping is the best part so do not skip it! I followed someone's suggestion and only used a 1/4 cup of each sugar. I believe it would overpower the taste of the apples otherwise. I thought the amt of butter in the topping was unnecessary so I only used a 1/4 cup. Pour all of the topping onto the cake. It tastes great warm and even better once it sets. A day later and there's only one piece left. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made this dessert for a German party and it was a huge hit! I doubled the cake and used a 9x13 pan. I made 1 1/2 times the glaze and it was perfect. Don't scrimp on the walnuts and raisins, even if it seems like too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Delicious. Make it with Granny Smith apples so they hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very good cake, nice and moist. I soaked the raisins first to plump them up. For the topping, I mixed a can of swetened condensed milk with a little cinnamon and finely chopped walnuts and poured it over the still hot cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States