German Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is the 2nd time I have made a German Apple Cake. The first was using a different recipe in a cooking class. I followed this exactly as it is written here only in both cases the cakes took 1 hr to bake. Its worth the wait! Delicious it wasn't dry or overly mushy. If you want a sweet dessert do not skip the caramel sauce as the cake itself is not that sweet (this may depend on sweetness of your apples too I guess). I drizzled the cake with about a quarter of the caramel sauce and then reserved the rest in a small container in case others need more. I did myself once go back and get more sauce. Its great with whipped topping and if you didn't have caramel sauce whipped topping would make a good (less sweet) substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good, very moist. I understand everyones preferences are different when it comes to spices. I added the combination I use with my apple pie. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I made one and didn't cook it long enough. When I made the glaze it was too heavy and squashed the not-fully cooked cake. I immediately made a second, cooked it long enough, but didn't use the glaze. I frosted it with white frosting and it was a total hit at our family german fest dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is perfect just the way it is. The batter did scare me, because it was very stiff, but after I added the apples and walnuts, it was fine. I slapped chopped my fuji apples and that may be what gave it the "juice" it needed. I did have to bake it for 60 minutes too. To make it healthier next time I will add 1/2 apple sauce instead of all oil, 1/2 whole wheat flour instead of all white flour and throw in some flax seed. May use some fall spices, but I really do love it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I haven't made the recipe yet, but a friend did and it was fabulous. Hint: My friend made the cake the night before and it seemed to moist and runny so got up in the morning and cooked it a while longer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very easy to make and wonderfully moist. The taste and texture is very pleasing. I made this for a group meeting and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a wonderfully different sort of cake. My great grandma made this when I was a kid, when she lost her mind to alzheimer's disease the recipe went with her. The only thing I can say is that I think there may have been a typo on the baking time. I baked this for an hour instead of thirty minutes and it came out great. Due to the oil content of the cake the toothpick came out clean even though it was not all the way done. Also, I remember when my grandma made this she poked holes in the cake for the topping to seep into the cake which I think makes it all the more better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
really good and really easy. I put the apples in the food processor and pulsed till they were minced but not liquid. worked really well. caramel topping is a plus. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent cake...moist and yummy. I shredded the apples instead of chopping them for a smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
A very moist cake, I agree with the other posts about the time, I baked mine for about an hour and 10 minutes and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States