German Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a wonderfully different sort of cake. My great grandma made this when I was a kid, when she lost her mind to alzheimer's disease the recipe went with her. The only thing I can say is that I think there may have been a typo on the baking time. I baked this for an hour instead of thirty minutes and it came out great. Due to the oil content of the cake the toothpick came out clean even though it was not all the way done. Also, I remember when my grandma made this she poked holes in the cake for the topping to seep into the cake which I think makes it all the more better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This cake is delicous, especially for fall. I cut the oil in it! I sub'd 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil for the 1 1/2 cups oil it asked for. The cake was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNONDANCE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I haven't made the recipe yet, but a friend did and it was fabulous. Hint: My friend made the cake the night before and it seemed to moist and runny so got up in the morning and cooked it a while longer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sim1Says
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Add cinnamon - use at least a half of a cup more sliced apples - up to a cup more. Bake longer. This is one of our family's favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent cake...moist and yummy. I shredded the apples instead of chopping them for a smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
really good and really easy. I put the apples in the food processor and pulsed till they were minced but not liquid. worked really well. caramel topping is a plus. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
Batter baked for 45 minutes in tube pan, yet failed to cook through to the center. Maybe too many "wet" ingredients (calls for 4 cups of apples)? Sweetness of cake made caramel topping superfluous. For fans of dense, sugary cakes only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
The cake was somehow dry even with 1 1/2 cups of oil and 4 cups of apples. I had to cook it for almost an hour for the center to be done and by then the outside was hard. I love the caramel topping and if this cake wasn't doused in that I wouldn't bother eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian McLellan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent! I made this for a pitch-in that had a German food theme. I took the suggestion to use 3/4 cup applesause and 1/4 cup oil instead of all oil and it turned out just fine. Next time though, I will put the cake on a plate that will hold all the extra carmel icing that falls away from the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good, very moist. I understand everyones preferences are different when it comes to spices. I added the combination I use with my apple pie. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States