German Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is the 2nd time I have made a German Apple Cake. The first was using a different recipe in a cooking class. I followed this exactly as it is written here only in both cases the cakes took 1 hr to bake. Its worth the wait! Delicious it wasn't dry or overly mushy. If you want a sweet dessert do not skip the caramel sauce as the cake itself is not that sweet (this may depend on sweetness of your apples too I guess). I drizzled the cake with about a quarter of the caramel sauce and then reserved the rest in a small container in case others need more. I did myself once go back and get more sauce. Its great with whipped topping and if you didn't have caramel sauce whipped topping would make a good (less sweet) substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this is a really good cake, but it took an hour to bake instead of 35 minutes as instructed. i also added cinnamon and nutmeg as i felt it would be bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent! I made this for a pitch-in that had a German food theme. I took the suggestion to use 3/4 cup applesause and 1/4 cup oil instead of all oil and it turned out just fine. Next time though, I will put the cake on a plate that will hold all the extra carmel icing that falls away from the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sim1Says
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Add cinnamon - use at least a half of a cup more sliced apples - up to a cup more. Bake longer. This is one of our family's favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This cake is delicous, especially for fall. I cut the oil in it! I sub'd 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil for the 1 1/2 cups oil it asked for. The cake was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNONDANCE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
The cake was somehow dry even with 1 1/2 cups of oil and 4 cups of apples. I had to cook it for almost an hour for the center to be done and by then the outside was hard. I love the caramel topping and if this cake wasn't doused in that I wouldn't bother eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake was good but I felt that it would have been even better if I had added cinnamon, clove, allspice, etc. If I make this again I would add some of those spices to the batter. My caramel sauce harded up on the cake but that was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
A very moist cake, I agree with the other posts about the time, I baked mine for about an hour and 10 minutes and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent cake...moist and yummy. I shredded the apples instead of chopping them for a smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
really good and really easy. I put the apples in the food processor and pulsed till they were minced but not liquid. worked really well. caramel topping is a plus. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States