German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Super easy recipe! Delicious results! This recipe is very similar to the "One Bowl Apple Cake" I've seen on Facebook. Following other reviewers suggestions I made a couple of changes. 1 1/2c sugar, 1/2c oil, 2 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ground ginger. The directions on the FB recipe instruct you to mix together the sugar, egg, oil, and spices in a large bowl. Add the apples directly to the wet mixture as you cut them up to prevent browning. After all the apples were added, I sprinkled the dry ingredients over the top and mixed together till the flour was absorbed. I didn't experience the super thick batter other reviewers describe. Next time I'll try the 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar mixture for more depth of flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Really good, used 1.5c sugar but otherwise followed ingredients and directions and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Awesome!!!! As is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great moist afternoon cake!! I added 3/4 cup rehydrated raisins, added 3 cups thinly sliced apples and 1 cup sliced pears, used only 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, 2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon and 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cups white sugar! Amazing moistness and perfect taste, not too sweet, a hit for the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
They weren't kidding when they said that the batter would be thick. The first time I made it I freaked out and added more flour, sugar, oil, and eventually an extra egg to compensate. Even then, it still turned out really good. Made properly though, it's divine. My family begs me to make this every time we get together now. I highly recommend adding caramel topping to the batter, and also drizzling it on top of the cake when it's done baking, then sprinkling it with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent apple 'bread'!! Loved it! I thought the batter was waaaaay too stiff, but combining it with the apples makes it just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made it first thing in the morning (we were waiting guests later ) and now at 16:00 I have nothing else but an empty plate. Don't think that I fed a crowd ,we were six altogether BUT it was a hit ! I didn't use any sugar or frosting on top. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Moist, flavorful and surprisingly light. Not a dense, heavy cake. Delightful cookie-type crunch on top. I did usee half brown and half white sugars. increased the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp because my family loves it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I *LOVE* this cake...so simple to make with ingredients most of us have on hand. The smell of this cake baking is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a really great recipe once I added an extra egg because it seemed a little dry. I added a topping after reading previous reviews. I was going to follow napels' recipe for the topping but I realized I did not have cream halfway through and changed it up to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of softened butter. Cut it in with the pastry cutter and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Dalman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States