German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made this today and as others suggested I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and the sugar to 1 and 1/2 cups and I'm so glad I did. The cake is very tasty and has a chewy texture on the outside but even with reducing the sugar it was sweet. I would definitely make it again, but I would cut back on the sugar even more. I added chopped walnuts and enjoyed them in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
An absolute fave in my home and small groups! One of the few recipes I never mess up! So dense rich and filling. The outside is crispy but inside so moist! I add cloves spice !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This recipe is awesome! But beware of using an electric mixer! Mine broke because batter is very thick! I will be making it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This cake is amazing! I don't bother peeling the apples. I just core them and chop them small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The batter was so thick it could barely be spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Easy to make, moist and yummy. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was a tasty, thick cake that makes a beautiful presentation. Changes I made were cutting the serving size to 12 and modified that ingredient list to make it a healthier cake--subbed applesauce for oil, used only 1/2 cup sugar (mostly all brown, about 2 tbsp of white) and whole wheat flour. I dusted the pan with flour, brown sugar and cinnamon. The final coat of powdered sugar added a nice sweetness. Note: I'm sure this recipe with the original ingredients is very tasty. These modifications I tried produce a fruit cake that is good for people who don't have a super sweet tooth and prefer healthier ingredients in their desserts. Additional ideas for making the healthier recipe a bit sweeter are adding a dollop of honey or serving warm with butter and preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Afyter baking it just fell apart completely. It tastes good but I found the exterior too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Delicious! I used frozen apples from our tree last year. I also used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. My only issue was that I tried to use a (greased and floured) bundt pan and I had to bake for at least 15 additional minutes...then it wouldn't come out! So we're eating it straight out of the pan...it's still yummy! Crispy on top, moist in the middle. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Really delicious. Easy to make, but a little hard to deal with the super thick batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States