German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I lost my old favorite recipe and found this one to be as much like it then any other. I cut the oil down less 1/4 cup and the next batch I used my whole wheat flour making it even more interesting and a bit more healthy. Fabulous either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Not the best apple spice cake out on this site. Reduced the sugar down to about 1 1/3 cups as suggested by other reviewers. Not too happy with this as is tasted more bread like. I did increase the cinnamon but kept oil quantities the same. It was very paste like, not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sean
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I had never made an apple cake before but I made this cake for a co-workers birthday and it was a hit! I followed the recipe and used cinnamon sugar on the pan in place of flour. I made a caramel pecan topping, which just put it over the top. This will be one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Big hit with my family this Thanksgiving! It was gone in 10 minutes!... I made it in a 9x13x2 in. pan and I drizzled a caramel sauce over top! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Massage_Chef#1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this because I wanted to heat up my apartment by using the oven and boy was I surprised! It turned out so moist and I didn't need to add any extra topping or icing. Brought it to work and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I didn't alter the recipe but for leaving off the powdered sugar topping. I'm making it again today for thanksgiving! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Super apple-licious cake! I slipped when removing it from my Bundt pan, and half of it was a pile of crumbs! Yikes! So I ended up shmooshing the crumbled pieces into an 8x8 square glass baker. Topped it with Smuckers caramel topping, and, BAM! That is one awesome cake. Will make it again, and maybe let it cool in the pan a little longer before attempting to de-pan it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome! My husband was in love with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Benge
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great added walnuts. Be sure to use a mixer and dice the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Man oh Man oh Man was this good! It was moist! Stayed moist! The only alterations I did were changed the oil to butter, and I chucked in some butterscotch chip (which really, this cake doesn't need)! This has been added to my repertoire of cakes. This, I would serve to guests who come for tea or something along that line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The cake turned out delicious and moist. The only downfall I had personally is that my kids & I aren't able to eat an entire cake fast enough so I cut and froze 1/2 of it and kept the rest for us to eat right way. After the second day it wasn't very good and the piece that I froze, after taking out of the freezer for 1/2 hour was very good - but just for that one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissWendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States