German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Well, I must have done something wrong because the middle of this cake wasn't done. Despite this, it kind of turned into an apple-cinnamon fondant and was absolutely delicious. May need to adjust the baking time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Followed recipe to a T accept didn't peal apples, and chopped them up with a hand processor. For me I would add raisins (because I love them) next time. Lovely refreshing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bar-B-Q Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Fantastic!! Took this to a class I taught and they had a hard time stopping at seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I couldn't be happier with how this cake turned out. It baked perfectly with the directions provided and was moist and delicious. I added a bit extra vanilla and was generous with the cinnamon…smells amazing as it's baking. I was a bit concerned the batter was so thick but to my pleasant surprise it cooked so nicely and thoroughly while staying moist. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This cake was fantastic as is. Just a bit on the sweet side, but we loved it in my house. Made the entire house smell like apples and cinnamon. The top of the cake was crispy and the inside was nice and moist. I didn't put any frosting on this cake. My family and I enjoyed it as is. We gobbled it up within a few days. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dippin Dots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent cake- no topping is necessary. I halved the recipe and used a loaf pan, which was a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is an excellent cake, very moist and delicious. I added one more apple, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and some freshly grated nutmeg. I took this to a Sunday school class and had requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This apple cake was a HUGE hit at our house! It was moist and delicious. I used 1 Cup applesauce instead of oil, and 1 Cup of Truvia Baking Blend instead of the 2 cups of sugar. I used jonagold apples fresh from the orchard. It was healthy and delicious! I will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I liked this very much. But I have a different recipe that I like a little better. I I'd like the crustiness of the top, though, and I did sugar-cinnamon line the pan. I also served it its a caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this for my son's first birthday, exactly as written. It was delicious! I also made the glaze recommended by others (butter, brown sugar, cream, vanilla) but didn't use it because the cake was perfect as it was. Per.fect.ion. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States