German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I reduced the sugar by a small bit (but that's just preference - I do that with almost all cake recipes) and increased the apple by about 1/2 a cup because we had lots of apples to use... and wow! Wonderful cake. We had company and gave some slices away to friends and neighbours (11 different people tried it) and everyone LOVED it. Great slightly-crunchy outside with a moist inside. The cake flavours are a perfect pairing to the apples. Perfect with just a light dusting of powdered sugar. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The larger the apple chunks the better, smaller piece equal mush. Have been making it for years golden delicious work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Too much oil! I followed the recipe as it is...it would be yummy, if it was so greasy. Will try again,but change that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made it as directed and did pour over a caramel topping. Hubby loved it and said it would be great with coffee. I tried a piece and thought it could use more spice. I'll add come apple pie spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe . Made it exactly as follows but added 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla . Was super moist and had enough apples for my liking . Only adjustment I would make next time is cut sugar in half (1 cup ) and oil ( substitute applesauce 1/2 oil , 1/2 applesauce ) I found it a little too sweet for my taste. I used sweet apples as well (golden delicious ) so really could have cut sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathansmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this today with apples from one of the "wild" trees that grows on our property. I have to admit I didn't measure how many apples I used...I have so many I want to use up so I just added and added! It came out great and the kids loved it. I did change it a bit as I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce but I do that for pretty much any dessert type bread/cake I make. I didn't bother frosting it...I don't think it needs any. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is soooooo good and so easy! The only thing I did differently was use 1cup of white sugar and 1cup of brown sugar. Apples, cinnamon and brown sugar just made sense to me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Delicious..I used all whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 brown sugar and white sugar.....also baked in a bunt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wow, just wow! I like this cake so much. For the first time I made it with a full cup of oil. And it was wonderful, very soft and melting in your mouth. And for the second time I substituted 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesause for oil. And this time the consistence came out a little bit firmer and not so melting. It was still good, but not as good as the cake with a full cup of oil. So if you don't care about your figure just don't change anything. This recipe is perfect without any frostings and custards. Just take into account that if you use bundt or gugelhupf pan, this cake won't be very nice looking if you put your apples in all the batter. Put 1/3 of batter in your bundt pan and then add all the apples in the remaining 2/3 of batter (you can make also a layer of apples between pure batter on the bottom of the pan and batter with apples). Both two times I baked this cake for 60 min. After 45 min. of baking a toothpick inserted in a cake is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States