German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this because I wanted to heat up my apartment by using the oven and boy was I surprised! It turned out so moist and I didn't need to add any extra topping or icing. Brought it to work and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I didn't alter the recipe but for leaving off the powdered sugar topping. I'm making it again today for thanksgiving! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Super apple-licious cake! I slipped when removing it from my Bundt pan, and half of it was a pile of crumbs! Yikes! So I ended up shmooshing the crumbled pieces into an 8x8 square glass baker. Topped it with Smuckers caramel topping, and, BAM! That is one awesome cake. Will make it again, and maybe let it cool in the pan a little longer before attempting to de-pan it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome! My husband was in love with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Benge
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great added walnuts. Be sure to use a mixer and dice the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Benge
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Man oh Man oh Man was this good! It was moist! Stayed moist! The only alterations I did were changed the oil to butter, and I chucked in some butterscotch chip (which really, this cake doesn't need)! This has been added to my repertoire of cakes. This, I would serve to guests who come for tea or something along that line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The cake turned out delicious and moist. The only downfall I had personally is that my kids & I aren't able to eat an entire cake fast enough so I cut and froze 1/2 of it and kept the rest for us to eat right way. After the second day it wasn't very good and the piece that I froze, after taking out of the freezer for 1/2 hour was very good - but just for that one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissWendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Amazing. Very moist. Cover with tea towel if serving the next day so doesn't go soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Big hit with friends and husband. Substituted whole wheat flour and used baking stevia for half of the sugar. Noone knew the difference and still super yummy. No topping needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
1/2 oil, 1/2 unsweetened applesauce. Decreased sugar to 1 1/2 cups, could probably go down to 1 1/4 cups next time. Incredibly delicious! Used Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My son and husband loved this even though I thought it should have cooked a little longer. (I will add another 5 minutes next time). I was really surprised and a little worried about how thick the batter was but it loosened up once I started stirring in the apples. Based on other reviews I added an extra cup of apples but followed all of the other instructions. I also drizzled with the caramel sauce suggested by another reviewer.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States