German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very soft and moist with a perfect crusty exterior. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made two of these cakes to the T. The first one I put in a bundt pan, and when I went to flip it the cake stuck and tore half the top off. I think if you use a bundt you need to cook this way longer. I started over, and made another one a few hours later in the 9 x 13 pan. This cake turned out fine, but as someone else said it does not keep well. This is an eat right away dessert. It had deflated quite a bit the next day when I took it to a church fellowship. I made caramel sauce for it, and kept it warm to pour over it. Without the caramel sauce it would have been just ok. This is a right out of the oven cake. I would never make it again if we were not eating it right away, and I would not make it without the carmel sauce for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a thin crunchy layer on the top and a bunch of goo in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
It ended up total mush on the inside after an hour of cooking while the outside was starting to burn. I was checking it every 5 minutes after the 45 minute mark and it was clear something was not right. The batter was not only thick but very grainy with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Wow this is way out of my expectation! I replaced the all purpose flour with cake and bread flour (75% / 25%) and used one apple and half a banana (didn't have enough apples), baked at 375 degrees for the first 15min and 350 for the rest. Turns out the skin is crunchy and inside has the remote texture of a lava cake! Love it! Next time I'll bake 5min less as the skin is little bit too hard when it's completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I cut back the oil by a 1/4 cup and cut the sugar in half because I don't like excessive sweet. However, I do drizzle on a caramel glaze. I always bake this in a bundt pan! 55 mins does the trick --make sure to grease & flour your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made for cabin weekend with family - was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
outside cooked really well in a bundt pan, but inside was super gooey- ended up microwaving my slice for a minute to thoroughly bake my slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
WOW! Amazing cake, guests loved it. Baked in a bundt pan, which took about 15 minutes longer to fully cook. Just did a simple glaze using powdered sugar and apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States