German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Fantastic, moist cake. I make it in huge batches and we eat it throughout the week. As a matter of fact, I am making another one today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakewithlove
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I baked this cake last weekend and followed the recipe. The only ingredient I altered was the vanilla extract. I still had one vanilla pod so I used it instead. I also added almond flakes in the batter. Total baking time was around 1 hour (after 45 mins, the cake was still kinda mushy inside though the top already looked brownish and well baked). It turned out really well, moist, and surprisingly delicious. However I expected the cinnamon caramel sugary crunches aroma didn't exaggerate the apple taste. I didn't make the frosting cause it's already sweet, I suggest vanilla ice cream with whipped cream is best companion for this cake. My hubby really loves the cake and he keeps digging it the day after (even the cake turned out to be more delicious after the second night). This recipe is definitely a keeper for me and I plan to bake it again this christmas with some alterations: 1 more egg, 1,5 cup sugar, more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Im having this with my coffee now. It truly is wonderful. I always let it cool completly. It gets this crunchy edge, but its moist and chewy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The only change was the oil to 1/2 cup and I baked in bundt pan for about 55 minutes. I also used the caramel glaze that's on this site. I made it for my dad's birthday because he wanted an apple cake and everyone loved it!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I searched for the recipie that most resembled the one my Mom used to make. This was it. Just made it and it's perfect! Moist, simply sweet (better w/out any frosting), and just right for breakfast and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This cake has become a family favorite fast. I grew up with my Grandmother's apple cake recipe, which everyone loved, but this is so much better than her cake! I didn't change a thing, I followed the recipe exactly.The kids love it with no frosting, just a bit of powder sugar. This is keeper, trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! Moist and flavorful! But I also tweaked it just a little after trying it. I replaced half the oil with water (the original recipe is a bit greasy), I used only 1/4 tsp salt. Since I was using very sweet apples I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. I also didn't peel them. That gave the cake a little more texture though the cooked peels are very soft, and you get a little more vitamins and fiber. It seems it might also be good with walnuts - maybe sprinkled on top with some chunky sugar crystals. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Delicious and moist - really did not need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great cake, I followed others notes and used 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil. the only downfall was I felt there were to many apples (or I cut them to large) I ended up making another 1/2 batch of the cake minus the apples and put it on top. In the end it was delish! I served it with whipped cream and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was fabulous! I used Honeygold apples and cut them in large chunks instead of dicing. I also baked the cake in a bundt pan which lengthened cooking time to over 1 hour, but boy was it worth it! I took another cook's suggestion and made a caramel sauce and that just took the cake over the top! VERY easy and super yummy! I will be making this cake again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States