German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Delicious and moist - really did not need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great cake, I followed others notes and used 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil. the only downfall was I felt there were to many apples (or I cut them to large) I ended up making another 1/2 batch of the cake minus the apples and put it on top. In the end it was delish! I served it with whipped cream and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was fabulous! I used Honeygold apples and cut them in large chunks instead of dicing. I also baked the cake in a bundt pan which lengthened cooking time to over 1 hour, but boy was it worth it! I took another cook's suggestion and made a caramel sauce and that just took the cake over the top! VERY easy and super yummy! I will be making this cake again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is the first apple cake I ever made and it was AWESOME! I'm not sure why some people commented that it wasn't. I followed the directions, with the exception of subbing half brown sugar for the sugar part. I also took the advice of others and made the caramel sauce...OMG, to die for! I am a pretty decent cook but you don't have to be for this recipe. I will say the batter is extremely thick, almost peanut buttery, but it all cooks together and is absolute wondefulness, especially with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Pleasant enough, however it turned out to be pretty wet in the end and took on a more pudding-like quality instead of cake-y. The recipe called for tons of apples, so that might be the reason it was wet. Took on the other user suggestions of halving the oil to 1/2 cup and reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, which I'm glad I did because I would not have wanted the cake to be even wetter and oilier than it was. Serving this does not look as pretty as a cake would, as it gets pretty messy when cut due to its texture and all the apples getting in the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious. The only changes I made were to substitute half of the oil with Greek plain yogurt, 1 TBSP of cinnamon and then I added 2 tsps of allspice and 1 tsp of nutmeg. I made it in a bundt pan and then sprinkled confectioner's sugar on top. I ate it for breakfast every morning. I am getting ready to make another one and freezing it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was fabulous. When my daughter was stirring the batter, she thought something was wrong because it was so thick and goopy, but I assured her that would change after the apples were added to it, which proved to be correct! I served this for a Rosh Hashanah meal, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Favorite recipe ever. It really doesn't need any frosting, just a dusting of confectioners sugar is enough. If its not all gone as soon as it comes out of the oven I suggest reheating and adding a scoop vanilla ice cream :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this apple cake, it's truly moist and delicious. I like others altered it by reducing sugar to 1 1/2 cups oil to 3/4 cup, 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites, I added 1/2 cup applesauce to make up for oil and sugar that was taken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somes Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this in the 9x13 - YUM~! I love the crispiness of the edges - will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States