German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Moist, flavour packed and simple. I've made it three times; twice as is and the third with raisins, nutmeg, allspice, and a dash of rum flavouring. It's amazing either way. Even better served warm with vanilla bean ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple butter since I was low on oil. also I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. It was very good the first day, got a little gooey the second day but it disappeared pretty quickly. good snack cake. I will try it with wheat flour next time to make a healthier snack for my kids. I drizzled it with some leftover maple glaze I had and it was very good but sweet and tasty enough on its own. Would be awesome with nuts in it. would recommend cutting apples very small or thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make this cake several times every fall with apples from the local orchard. I usually use McIntosh. They cook nicely in this cake. One change I do make though is to use 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Turns out wonderful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Used this for Sunday school. Everybody loved it.I know where the"soupy" comment came from.It was hard to tell when its done. An outer crust forms that makes the toothpick test kind of hard to perform. Went an hour and could of probably gone another 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Beat the eggs first. Get them thick then add the oil. Not sure if anyone shared that. There are 700+ posts! I made a lucky mistake of forgetting to add the sugar so I had to start over. concerned with my first batch because oil and eggs didn't get creamy I tried beating the eggs first for my do-over. That's the trick!!! Cake did stick to pan. I used an earthenware bundt and added cinnamon and sugar to coat after the butter and flour. Not sure which was the stick-y cause. Thankfully just a dessert for home so presentation not a big deal. Overall, very tasty by following directions. Gave it four stars because directions should say..... Beat eggs. Add oil. Then add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Followed the directions exactly and doesn't look like the picture. Falls apart easy. Thinks there is just way too much vegetable oil but I put it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I wanted to make an apple cake. Instead I made an apple crust with mush underneath. It tasted good, but wouldn't come out of the pan well even though I greased and floured it. My husband thinks it stuck to the pan because there's too much sugar in it. That makes sense. If you want to make this cake, don't follow the recipe to a T, follow other reviewers advice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed it to a T and it still was not done. Took over an hour to bake and then still wasnt fully done. Very mushy on the inside and really cripy on the outside, its mor eof a bread pudding than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This cake turned out amazing! As suggested by other users, I reduced the oil to half a cup. I used half cup white sugar and half cup brown sugar and granny smith apples. I used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I baked it in a 9.5 inch pie pan. The cake was a little too sweet. Maybe will reduce the sugar even more. Otherwise, the cake was really moist and apple-y. Husband said it was as good as bakery bought. And i trust his cake judgement. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States