German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My cooking hat is off to Barbara! Thank-you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. My sister-in-law begs me to make it every Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarks Hill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
#1 Don't make this in a bundt pan, you won't be able to get it out. #2 I did like the way it bakes up nice and crunchy, love the texture, however, the cake is too sweet. My husband and I agree that you can't really taste the apples or cinnamon, all you can taste is sugar. I will look for another apple cake recipe, once was enough for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Great easy recipe. I was afraid that it would be too dry because the batter was so thick. I kept the recipe as it was written. I put foil over the cake the last 15 minutes because the top was getting to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
One of my favorite cakes! This recipe would be five stars if it didn't suggest 1 c. vegetable oil, it's unnecessary. I only use 1/2 c. and it comes out very moist. I leave the skins on the apples (why remove them..??), only use 1 c. sugar (half white, half brown), always in a bundt pan and bakes for 40-45 min. The cake is amazing on it's own but even more amazing with a little homemade cream cheese icing. Use only a half block of cream cheese when making the icing and swirl it right on top! Yummmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by eyp1175
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
DELICIOUS! I followed the directions exactly and it came out so wonderfully, with a delicious crispy topping. to keep it from getting soggy the next day, I stored it under paper towels (or use a kitchen towel) in a cake server.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WendyG
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have been making this cake for years. Not too many ingredients, and tons of apples. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and made it into twelve cupcakes, and they were absolutely delicious! The only problem I encountered was that they didn't quite cook all the way, even after I'd left them in the oven for over 30 minutes. I added extra apple, so I wonder if that kept them from cooking. Either way, the taste was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Fantastic, moist cake. I make it in huge batches and we eat it throughout the week. As a matter of fact, I am making another one today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakewithlove
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I baked this cake last weekend and followed the recipe. The only ingredient I altered was the vanilla extract. I still had one vanilla pod so I used it instead. I also added almond flakes in the batter. Total baking time was around 1 hour (after 45 mins, the cake was still kinda mushy inside though the top already looked brownish and well baked). It turned out really well, moist, and surprisingly delicious. However I expected the cinnamon caramel sugary crunches aroma didn't exaggerate the apple taste. I didn't make the frosting cause it's already sweet, I suggest vanilla ice cream with whipped cream is best companion for this cake. My hubby really loves the cake and he keeps digging it the day after (even the cake turned out to be more delicious after the second night). This recipe is definitely a keeper for me and I plan to bake it again this christmas with some alterations: 1 more egg, 1,5 cup sugar, more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Im having this with my coffee now. It truly is wonderful. I always let it cool completly. It gets this crunchy edge, but its moist and chewy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States