German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious cake. Following advice of others, I used 1/2 cup of oil, 1 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar. Substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for white. Added raisins and walnuts, coated pan with cinnamon sugar. It was still a bit too sweet, so I might reduce the sugar a bit next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
MMM MMM MMM I have tried this recipe with less sugar, less oil, without any modifications, made it a total of 7 times now. This is an amazing recipe good for novice or pro. Lori F. who said it burned on the outside and mushy on the inside, perhaps check your ovens temp. This is a no fail recipe. Absolute wonderful comfort food. Once in a while I do add a struesel topping, but would not recommend icing it. Perfect with a cup of coffee, for brunch or as a pot luck. Thank you Barbara for a wonderful staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The recepi is great, but I think there's an error in the amount of sugar. Put the sugar almost in have and it's perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Let the cake cool completely before icing or covering to fully enjoy the crunchy outside and the moist inside. I always asked for this cake on my birthday and 50 years later, it's still a family favorite. Mom's version includes a cup of pecans, and 1 tsp nutmeg replaces 1 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is a fantastic cake with no changes. It is a little wet when cooked but that is from the apples. I received tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Crazy good! I didn't have a 9x13 cake pan so I used a slightly smaller heart shaped casserole dish. It turned out perfect, just took an extra 10 minutes of baking. This will be a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was absolutely delicious and fool-proof! I was actually trying to follow the directions exactly, except that I wanted to double the recipe. I took the 4 eggs out of the fridge to let them get to room temp, and thus didn't start baking until a few hours later. I then decided to make one cake first just in case my mixing bowl wasn't big enough, but I accidentally used all four eggs! I only realized my mistake after transferring the entire mixture into the baking pan! I decided to just pour it back in the bowl and try to double it. I mixed the second round of oil, sugar and vanilla separately, poured it in, and then add the dry ingredients and just stirred, stirred, stirred by hand. I thought for sure it would flop, but no, it was delicious! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made the cake exactly as written and found it to be too mushy, oily, and too sweet. The flavor was good, but I did not like the consistency. If I were to make this again I would use half the amount of oil and some applesauce, and less sugar. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
OMG, this is GREAT! I don't usually comment but I feel compelled. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a 9 x 11" glass dish to bake in at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. I could have baked longer but my husband & I like a little "gooey-ness" to our desserts. The consistency is similar to bread pudding. The taste VERY sweet (could use less sugar if you're trying to be healthy) but not overly sweet. Perfect winter dessert! I'm going to serve with Fat Free Cool Whip & coffee. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this and everyone is devouring it! ***FOLLOW THIS RECIPE TO THE T**** Seriously people, stop making changes and reviewing recipes. It doesn't help! Make this recipe exactly as is and you will enjoy a delicious cake with a crispy top and soft center that isn't wet. Perrrfect. My sister makes an apple cake all the time but unfortunately for her, this beats it and has less calories (hers is made with butter). DO NOT PUT A TOPPING/FROSTING/WHATEVER on this cake. It is perfect as is. Truly a 5 star. And those who changed it will never know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States