German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I liked this very much. But I have a different recipe that I like a little better. I I'd like the crustiness of the top, though, and I did sugar-cinnamon line the pan. I also served it its a caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this for my son's first birthday, exactly as written. It was delicious! I also made the glaze recommended by others (butter, brown sugar, cream, vanilla) but didn't use it because the cake was perfect as it was. Per.fect.ion. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkidollie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The most delicious apple dessert I've ever tasted! I topped it with a caramel glaze and sprinkled with toasted walnuts, absolutely delicious. It took a great amount of restraint not to devour the entire cake in one sitting! I used gala apples, which tend to be very sweet, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. It was still a tad too sweet, next time around I will reduce the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkidollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was tasteful, right amount of sweetness and perfect texture. Thanks :D. Keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made it as written. Have made with and without glaze on top. Amazing every time! Thanks, Barbara, for a fabulous apple cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I really enjoy experimenting and trying new dessert recipes so it is uncommon for me to go back to one and make it again, even if it came out well (which is usually the case). That being said, this is one I have gone back to and without a doubt will again. Easy to make (dicing the apples is the most work) and absolutely scrumptious - crunchy top and moist, delicious interior. My family (most of whom claim they are "not big on sweets") loves this cake and many of them have asked me for the recipe. I don't make any changes to the recipe other than adding an extra cup of apples- I use a combination of Golden Delicious and Granny Smith and would recommend this to anyone looking for a suggestion for good baking apples. Adding extra apples does not effect the cooking time in my case - the cake is always perfectly done at 45 minutes. Everyone's tastes are different, but I personally find this cake to be perfect without any kind of topping- It just doesn't need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and baked in a 5x7 loaf pan. It took quite a bit longer to get done (no fault for the recipe). It was just a little too moist for us and only got worse, almost, just almost soupy after 2 days. I'll move on to another apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I used to make a chunky apple cake in the eighties but lost the recipe so I'm really happy that I found this. I made a few changes. Used only 1/2 cup of olive oil, three eggs (I added the third to make up for some of the liquid) and just under 1 1/2 cups sugar (I included a small amount of brown sugar in that scant 1 1/2 cups), and I used five apples chopped into pieces. When I first saw the batter, I couldn't believe it would fill a 9 x 13 pan but once I added the apples, it fit perfectly. Then I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top. It came out soooo good. Took a little longer than 45 min but I think my oven temp is off. Wow. This is really delicious. And the inclusion of brown sugar gave it a nice dark color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
It was a great recipe my daughter and my co-workers loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This cake was delicious. I'd say it's more of a coffee cake than dessert cake, though. I made it in a bundt pan, which for some reason did NOT work (I'm thinking it was too moist because of all the apples?) - it plopped out of the pan in clumps...but I'm sure a 9x13 would've worked fine. It was pretty soggy even by the late evening of the first day, which I don't mind too much, but by the next morning it was mush. I made the caramel sauce (1 stick butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup heavy cream, boil 3 minutes then add 1 tsp vanilla) that some others recommended and it was delicious poured on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States