German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent---delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I'm 18 years old and I love everything about Germany so I was looking for German Recipes I came across this one and it sounded really good so I decided to make it I read over the reviews and I loved what the reviews were saying. I just tasted it and Oh my god it so good I recommend it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billkfreak89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent cake - but after makeing it several times, the easest way to mix it is to dive your hands into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
D.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s. I ate 3/4 of this cake the first day I made it. Not exactly proud of that fact, but...wow. I love this cake. I also did the 1/3 c oil to 2/3 c (homemade) applesauce substitution. T.a.s.t.y. Had to cut back on the sugar quite a bit because I don't like things too sweet, but the taste is simply phenomenal. Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twodavez
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very Moist apple cake. I also reduced the oil in half and just used some cooking spray and cinnamon & sugar for the pan. It came out great, and was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
It's important to note that this calls for far too much sugar, especially if you're planning to use a caramel sauce as some reviewers have suggested. I didn't want to use even a cup and a half of sugar, but I like to stay as close to the original recipe as possible the first time I make anything. I used a cup and a half and it was still too sweet. Next time I'll only use a cup or 3/4 cup of sugar. (And I say this as a girl who likes sugar.) Having run out of brown sugar and cream, I popped open a can of La Lechera Caramel, scooped some in a bowl, nuked it in the microwave and spread a thin layer over this cake. Mind blown! The cake itself is very yummy. But the caramel addition, with a touch of vanilla ice cream makes it incredible! Just be sure to half the sugar! This is a dessert that will def be on the table next holiday season. It's really good! I may try it with apple sauce and reduce the oil the next time I make it. Many thanks to Barbara for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious!!! I followed other recommendations by using half white sugar and half brown, half white flour and half whole wheat. I also used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also left the peels on you can't even tell! Mixture will be very very thick but cooks up moist, dense and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
So delicious! Everyone at school were blown away and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved this. I made it for Book Club with a few changes. I halved the batter but kept the full amount of apples. Used a smaller pan. The brown sugar/ butter topping made the cake. I have also made this with rhubarb Nd it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Well, I must have done something wrong because the middle of this cake wasn't done. Despite this, it kind of turned into an apple-cinnamon fondant and was absolutely delicious. May need to adjust the baking time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States