German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I'm 18 years old and I love everything about Germany so I was looking for German Recipes I came across this one and it sounded really good so I decided to make it I read over the reviews and I loved what the reviews were saying. I just tasted it and Oh my god it so good I recommend it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billkfreak89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent cake - but after makeing it several times, the easest way to mix it is to dive your hands into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
D.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s. I ate 3/4 of this cake the first day I made it. Not exactly proud of that fact, but...wow. I love this cake. I also did the 1/3 c oil to 2/3 c (homemade) applesauce substitution. T.a.s.t.y. Had to cut back on the sugar quite a bit because I don't like things too sweet, but the taste is simply phenomenal. Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twodavez
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very Moist apple cake. I also reduced the oil in half and just used some cooking spray and cinnamon & sugar for the pan. It came out great, and was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
It's important to note that this calls for far too much sugar, especially if you're planning to use a caramel sauce as some reviewers have suggested. I didn't want to use even a cup and a half of sugar, but I like to stay as close to the original recipe as possible the first time I make anything. I used a cup and a half and it was still too sweet. Next time I'll only use a cup or 3/4 cup of sugar. (And I say this as a girl who likes sugar.) Having run out of brown sugar and cream, I popped open a can of La Lechera Caramel, scooped some in a bowl, nuked it in the microwave and spread a thin layer over this cake. Mind blown! The cake itself is very yummy. But the caramel addition, with a touch of vanilla ice cream makes it incredible! Just be sure to half the sugar! This is a dessert that will def be on the table next holiday season. It's really good! I may try it with apple sauce and reduce the oil the next time I make it. Many thanks to Barbara for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious!!! I followed other recommendations by using half white sugar and half brown, half white flour and half whole wheat. I also used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also left the peels on you can't even tell! Mixture will be very very thick but cooks up moist, dense and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
So delicious! Everyone at school were blown away and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved this. I made it for Book Club with a few changes. I halved the batter but kept the full amount of apples. Used a smaller pan. The brown sugar/ butter topping made the cake. I have also made this with rhubarb Nd it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Well, I must have done something wrong because the middle of this cake wasn't done. Despite this, it kind of turned into an apple-cinnamon fondant and was absolutely delicious. May need to adjust the baking time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Followed recipe to a T accept didn't peal apples, and chopped them up with a hand processor. For me I would add raisins (because I love them) next time. Lovely refreshing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bar-B-Q Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States