German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heather Khey Beldman
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe using simple basics! I'm a baking newbie and this was a good one to follow... Boy, they weren't kidding about the batter being uber thick towards the end. Haha thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The best apple cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
As another reader wrote, I was so excited to try this based on other reviews, but to be honest, not only was it VERY bland, but had a very hard crusty inedible top and mush, far too dense inside. Even if it had cooked properly, I wouldn't enjoy this at all. I made this for a cookout with myself and one very sweet teen girl who also took one bite and put her fork down, afraid to say anything. I made this exactly as the recipe stated. Perhaps with the adjustments others mentioned, it might be better, but I won't try it again, even with adjustments. Im sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This has become a regular at potluck's. It is so good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I changed nothing, however; I did make one mistake. I had 4 apples cored/peeled/sliced and used them all. I am not sure how many cups it came to. BUT, I am going to make this cake very soon! I have five gallons of apples to use, and this is a very tasty way to use them! Perhaps cupcakes next time. Also, It was perfect without frosting. I dusted lightly with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My mother introduced me to this recipe, and it has become a family favourite!! I've made my own alterations by using whole wheat flour (in part or in whole) and adding a dash of ground cloves, thereby giving it a nutty flavour and reducing the caloric content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Soooo good, but I think other reviewers are right in saying to use less sugar. It was a tiny bit too sweet, but other then that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake served warm and topped with whipped cream. I did however add a little Nutmeg to the recipe to add a little more flavor. The batter is extremely thick and it was difficult to fold in the apples, but with time, I got them folded in. Next time I make this, I think I am going to coat the apples with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar before folding them in to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love this recipe. We make it often and everyone goes crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing, but I did make the simple carmel sauce but I halved it and just drizzeled it over the top. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States