Georgia's Tennessee Jam Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mamzie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this cake and found it as described. It does not taste like blackberry jam; however, the jam does impart a very unique flavor to the cake, especially alongside the spices, and also adds to the texture of the cake, which is quite dense, but not heavy or leaden. Also to be mentioned is that the next day, the cake tasted even better, the flavors melded, were enhanced and the cake was very moist. I think next time I will make it the night before and store it. NOTE: It makes a ton of batter, enough for two bundt cakes, so I recommend halfing the recipe or making two cakes. In American recipes, I always half the sugar (1 cup), which I did with this recipe. Especially with the jam, which has loads of sugar in it anyway. The sweetness was perfect. I also substituted 1 cup of toasted pecans, because we do live in the south where they are plentiful and reasonably priced. I omitted the raisins. I dusted the finished cake with powdered sugar and garnished with fresh blackberries. Also, had some canned whipped topping for each plate. Very elegant. I would recommend this cake as it tastes delicious and unique, plus it makes a beautiful presentation. (I have posted a pic.) Thanks to Amy and her gramma for this traditional recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I am not a big fan of spice cakes, but they are my hubby's fav. I made this for his birthday today and it filled my whole house with its delicious scent while baking. We just both had a piece and it was very good! I used seeded jam because it is all I had. Also, I did not have real buttermilk, so I put a tbs of white vinegar in a cup of regular milk. I made sort of a butter cream - cream cheese frosting. I cut the recipe into 9 servings because I only had 6 eggs. It still made 3 nice round layers, but I had to cut the bake time down to about 22 minutes. Will definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
What an exceptional cake! It was tender and flavorful. My husband loves spice cake and he loved this. The only thing I did that I will change the next time around is to use seedless blackberry jam, as the recipe specifies. I had jam with seeds in it and thought it would be ok. It was... but the seeds were throughout the cake, and crunched. Would have been better without. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. I am making it for the second time this weekend, and had to take a moment to comment on how incredible it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I hate to tell you this but my grandmother made that exact same cake more than 60 years ago in Arkansas. I don't know where she got the recipe but I have it and I have loved it all these years including the black walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjr6350

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is an exceptionally good spice cake. However, the blackberry really didn't come through with so much clove and nutmeg added. The jam's real purpose seems only to be to moisten the cake. For that you could just use applesauce as a cheaper alternative. For my second attempt, I drastically reduced the amount of clove and nutmeg, to 1/2 tsp each, and added 4 tbsp of blackberry liquor. Both cakes got rave reviews but the second was more "blackberry", IMHO. As a side note, I frosted the first cake with cream cheese icing and found it to be way to sweet for my taste. My family ended up just scraping the icing off. Also, for both cakes, I spread blackberry jam between the layers. Finally, as with most fruit and vegetable based cakes and breads, this gets better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
A very nice cake! Not too dry at all - just right. I scaled your recipe by 3/4 and, as it baked, it rose to fill two 9 x 1.5 pans. I buttered and floured the pans well, but it still stuck a bit. I will use parchment paper next time. I boiled a can of sweetened condensed milk to make dulce de leche and used that as my topping - came out great! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is an excellent cake recipe -- very moist and full of flavor. I used fresh nutmeg, which was a nice fresh touch to it. The cake was very dense, but the three layers was a nice contrast to the density. I used a caramel frosting, which was nice, but I think it would also be great with a cream cheese frosting, and think I would prefer the tang of that next time. I also subbed chopped dates for the raisins, and you don't notice them once baked -- they just give the cake a nice richness. Did not use the nuts. On one of the inside layers, did a layer of blackberry jam instead of frosting -- would recommend that; it was nice. Also, would suggest heating your jam a bit before adding to the batter, if it's cool out, because I had trouble getting it to blend in; it clumped a bit. Overall, really nice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a nice cake. It makes a lot--I made a full bundt cake and 12 cupcakes. I don't have a clue what I'm going to do with it all, so it's a good thing it tastes good! It is very reminiscent of a spice cake--all those spices really jack up the flavor. I didn't have blackberry jam, so I used strawberry freezer jam I had made a while ago. I can taste the jam, if only slightly, but it goes well with the other flavors in this cake. I actually had walnuts (we usually don't have them--bf doesn't like them) so I tossed those in, along with the raisins. I didn't use golden raisins, though--just regular. This cake turns out very sweet, so I personally don't think it needs an icing or glaze at all. I just sprinkled it with powdered sugar and called it a day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
makes a nice sized sheet cake AND 2 dozen cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great taste. I was curious on this and wanted to try it out for my father-in-laws birthday. This came out similar to what I would consider a spice cake and I did not really taste the jam. Thank you for sharing the recipe and your story about Georgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Humfleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States