Georgia Spiced Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This recipe is GREAT!!! I only made half a recipe just to try it. I made it during Summer, 2001 with fresh peaches and let them sit a while in the spices, using them this past holiday season for our Thanksgiving table on the Turkey tray and then again around the Cranberry jello mold. Around Xmas and a few times this winter, I made Gingerbread pancakes as a special breakfast treat. I opened up a jar of my canned spiced peaches and put them in the blender to just cut them up for better mixing with the spices. I then used the cut spiced peaches and the " spices juice" mixture(instead of maple syrup) over the gingerbread pancakes. It was sooo good! Thank you Donna and thanks to all of your relatives in Georgia! We will enjoy this recipe and the wonderful combinations we've created for years to come here in the Shenandoah Valley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
These are wonderful. Don't be daunted by the canning process. Much easier that it sounds and this recipe is worth the trouble. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wonderful flavor, easy to make and filled the house with wonderful scents. With fall and winter coming up I anticipate this being enjoyed quite a bit in the coming months. Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This is among the best spiced peaches recipes that I have ever used. I canned mine alittle differently. I made the syrup and then poured it over the peaches that were raw packed into sterile jars. Then processed in a hot water bath for 25 minutes per pint. This seemed to be so much easier to me. The flavor was outstanding....not too strong...not to mild. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My mother was savoring every bite ... not an easy thing to do! That makes it an automatic 5 stars in my files ~ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A couple of days ago I took my three kids to the orchard for peach picking, and ended up with more peaches than I knew what to do with. I tried this recipe for my first ever attempt at canning. I cut the recipe in half, and it turned out great. The jars look so pretty, I'm planning to give some away in holiday gift baskets. I did end up with extra cooked peaches and not enough of the syrup to cover them in jars. Not such a bad thing because I got to taste the peaches, and they are incredible! The canning process wasn't as intimidating as I'd thought, so I'll certainly make these peaches again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I was looking for something different to do with my peaches and I found this. This is awesome. I don't like lots of sugar so I used only 1.5 cups of sugar. It is delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made these to surprise my husband, who grew up in Georgia, and they turned out pretty well for my first time with canning. Nonetheless, I would definitely recommend starting with less sugar than what this recipe calls for and adding to one's personal taste, as they tasted way too sweet for either of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
These are way too sweet. The cinnamon & cloves make it taste like apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I LOVE this recipe!! We made it for English class for extra credit and everyone LOVED them. They are simply scrumptious and so easy to make. Mmm mmmm good these peaches are the bombest bomb!! If you make these peaches you will NOT regret it they are the most delicious thing in the world and I don't even normally like peaches!! TRY THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States