George's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Sooooo delicious. These cookies are awesome! It's so refreshing to find an oatmeal cookie that can stand up on it's own without the addition of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
5 stars for sure. I love making cookies and this reipe is a keeper. I did half the recipe and chopped up milk chocolate kisses, ghiradella semi sweet chocolate and some nice dark chocolate. It was a nice treat to go all out and use the good chocolates for these cookies. I'm sure using average chocolate would still make a great cookie. I did cream the butter and sugars then added the egg and vanilla and gradually added in the flour mixture with blended oatmeal. I dropped by heaping tbsp onto sheets(didn't flatten with a fork) and needed to bake for 9 minutes and they were perfect. 6-8 minutes and they were too raw and not ready to come out yet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made the full recipe because I needed lots of cookies for Easter; I made the recipe as directed except adding another half teaspoon of vanilla, and about half a teaspoon of salt (it's really important). Because of the chips I used, I also used about 3/4 tsp almond extract. I used a cup of cherry chips, a cup of raspberry chips, and 2 cups of bittersweet chocolate chips. These were full of chips, so I skipped the german chocolate chunks on top. I made good-sized golfball scoops of dough, and the cookies spread just enought without spreading into each other, so they maintained a good thickness. I found I had to bake them for about 9 minutes, though, and my oven bakes hot, so I think I must have made the cookies a bit bigger than recommended. The ground oats give a really nice texture and subtle nutty taste to the cookie. I really like the dough and think you can use the dough as a good base for several different kinds of cookies. On another note, I used my kitchenaid mixer, and the cookie dough really almost overflowed, so be aware of that; I might make it in halves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were OK, but I thought they were too sweet. I'll probably make these again, but I think I'll cut down on the sugar a little and use all dark chocolate chips, no milk chocolate. Also, I cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Amazing cookies...makes a huge amount...next time will cut recipe in half...this is absolutely a keeper...my daughter's been baking...we've been eating...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
with six children, this is an excellent recipe for a large family. i enjoyed the mixture of rolled oats. i found it a bit sweet but enjoyed it immensely with milk. my children just loved it. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These came out great! Halved the recipe. Just used some milk choc chips and some semisweet. Baked for 9 mins. I think I would give 5 stars if they had a teeny crunch to them or something - but they are really good as is, soft and almost fluffy. I used a bit less sugar than it called for, the flavor is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very chewy and soft. I will probably be making these again over other chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
WOWSERS!! I have pitched my old chocolate chip cookie recipe and am keeping this one! I did 1/2 a batch, and used 12 oz. dark chocolate chips and 6 oz. milk chocolate chips. Absolutely killer cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were the best cookies ever! Everybody in work loved them. I will never use another chocolate chip cookie recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States