George Washington's Birthday Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good but I couldn't get it to stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I decided to make this recipe because it was faceless and needed a photo and also, I had all the ingredients on hand. I baked it in a Nordic Ware Heritage Bundt pan for 1 hour. The next time I bake it, I plan on adding almond extract and maybe a light chocolate glaze. The cinnamon was very faint. We love chocolate and cherries and combined together, they made a very moist cake. It is a keeper for me! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
We have been making this recipe since I can remember. The only thing different is we spoon the batter into little cupcake holders. Then bake. Then sprinkle lightly with powder sugar. They are always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Mothershed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
It was okay, but tastes a little bit too much like a fruit cake. Too many nuts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Neither my husband nor I liked this cake. I followed the recipe, didn't change or add. Served it to two different sets of friends. The 2nd couple are closer friends and they both said put in some coconut and you have a fruit cake. Bottom line, it was too heavy and not enough cherry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Not a big hit in this house. Kind of dry. The cherries all sank to the bottom (the top when turned out of the pan). It was okay, but most of it was wasted. My son wouldn't even try it and my husband didn't like it. I truly wanted to like it, but I just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this today for a church social. People loved it. I loved it. Quite easy to make and tasty. I served it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAQS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
AMAZING!!!!! the cherries and nuts and choclate mix well with the moistness. definintely worth making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States