George Washington Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very yummy cake! Moist and delish! I prefer my cherries coarsely chopped, but otherwise, I made no changes. Will definitely make this one again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trahnse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is very similar to a recipe that I had years ago, and then had lost. I was happy to find this. The cake has a rich flavor and great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownville Junction, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe is a keeper! It's very moist and delicious. The only thing I changed from the original directions was to double the amount of cherries (and I didn't chop finely, I left them kinda chunky). It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I give it 4 stars because I made some changes. I used butter instead of shortening in the cake batter,and 3/4cup 100% cherry juice in place of the water and a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 2 cups of frozen cherries in place of the maraschino cherries. When it came to the frosting, I used 100% cherry juice, and used way more than 1/3 cup. I used 4oz instead of 1oz of the chocolate in the frosting, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract in place of the almond. I also had to heat the frosting on top of a double boiler to get it smooth and creamy since it was a disgusting lump when the frosting ingredients were cold. Now for the taste...it was very chocolately and fudgy. Next time I would perhaps add something to make the cake a little moister, but not sure what...maybe applesauce, or a little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was an excellent cake -moist delicious and flavorful- however I did make some changes. I added 2 cups of frozen cherries (the grocery store did not have any fresh ones at the time) because I thought this would taste better. Next time I think I will add even more cherries or maybe replace the water/buttermilk with cherry juice to enhance the flavor. I added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and 1 1/2 oz of chocolate to the frosting. I also made the frosting with fresh 100% cherry juice so it would have a fresh, rather than canned flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This cake looked terrible and tasted worse! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was very very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Why is this recipe being ignored? It is fantastic!! I made this cake for Valentine's day for my husband. It is the first cake from scratch I have ever made, and it was perfect in every way.. The cake was delicious and moist and easy to make. I did add a little more chocolate to the frosting. I decorated the top with cherries..this cake would be beautiful, elegant and tasty enough for any occasion. I've made it many times and there is never a crumb left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have yet to make this cake - however, I havae tasted it. I am a Foods Judge for 4-H and Open Class at county fairs in our area and surrounding areas. A 13 year old 4-Her made this and it was AWESOME! She received a State Fair Purple on it. I asked where she got the recipe and she said here at this site. I am anticipating on making this VERY soon. What a wonderful tasting and eye appealing cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States