Genoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Based on area of 6" round = 56% of 8" round, I halved the recipe for a 6" cake. Out of parchment so used foil instead... Used salted butter, skipped the salt and the vanilla. [][] It did rise to the proverbial 1.5" from a 1" deep batter, and shrank very little... Folding was indeed the key!! And a Balloon Whisk made a huge difference from a rubber spatula !! [][] Slow motion also minimized deflation... I lost very little volume this time before baking... whereas I lost about 1/3 of the volume last time when I used only a spatula and normal folding speed. [][] Flouring the pan/foil after greasing... Need to really tap out the excess flour... Last time when I didn't fold lightly enough, and left excess flour... the oily part of the batter sank and mixed with the flour and gave me a leathery sheet at the bottom !! [][] The aroma was fantastic during baking and the top a lovely golden brown... and a light and tender crumb inside... Butter + egg tastes indeed pronounced, but that's part of its rich flavour... Can't imagine why people complain... [][] A word of caution, though : Because it's so rich, filling/frosting should be on the light side... [][] I filled it with a White Choc Raspberry Ganache and the pink looked great against the gold of the cake, but it was too sweet / rich together... Next time I will just serve the whole wedge with Raspberry Coulis and a dusting of icing sugar... The cake is delicious on it own !! [][] A good first Genoise recipe... Thanks, Kevin !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
great for Opera cake. also use 1/2 flour & 1/2 ground almonds and almond flavoring instead of vanilla. Versatile but must use with a syrop else too dry. an easy version of genoise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I was somewhat disappointed with this cake. I am a very proficient baker, but this was not what I had imagined genoise to be. I followed the directions to a T, but ended up with a dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
It's exactly what I remember in cooking school. Great for petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Sounds like the classic recipe for Genoise that I have been looking for. Great for gluten intolerant folks like me. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia84
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I'm making a fruit filled layer cake and this is perfect because it's not too sweet. I just made it and it's better than expected and a lot easier than it sounded in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is a heavenly cake. Mine was neither flat tasting nor eggy tasting, as previous reviews suggest. I'm a batter taster, even though it's supposedly bad for you, but even prior to cooking is was a delicious fluffy sweet vanilla. One thing to make sure of though, is when you are beating the eggs, make sure your whisk, whisk attachments and bowl are absolutely oil free. Any reside oil makes the eggs difficult to get fluffy, and fluffiness is the key to this recipe. Also be very very gentle folding in your ingredients and while adding them to the bowl itself, you what to preserve as many air bubbles as possible. Some things I changed: used ultrafine bakers sugar and sifted my ingredients twice (once to shift together and then once while I was gently adding them to the bowl). I also like vanilla flavor so added 2 tsp rather than 1 ½ tsp. When done it is a beautiful sponge cake. This is a perfect base for my petit fours. I’ll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
not sure if this is supposed to taste like scrambled eggs or not, but it did. followed directions exactly, was super careful folding the whites, and still it came out with an OVERWHELMING egg taste. maybe thats the point of genoise, i don't know, but if you are just looking for a petits four base, i would not recommend this or ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is the classic sponge cake recipe. It is flat tasting because you need to soak the cake with simple syrup first before decorating it.(That is why it is called a "sponge") Mix equal parts of sugar and water and heat to just boiling, one cup of each should be enough for one cake. Add flavor of your choice, about 2 teaspooons. One cup of syrup will be enough for one cake. Split the cake into 2 horizontal layers and wih a pasry brush apply the syrup to each layer. To finish the cake you can use buttercream or sweetened whipped cream. In between the layers can be fruit or jam or more of the frosting. This is a delicious cake when make properly as the direcions indicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMarie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is so far the best GENOISE recipe I have tasted and tested. This is quite similar to the ways the ITALIANS bake their own sponge cake. This is an excellent recipe and is simplified for an easy understanding of the procedure. I modified some ingredients because I ran out of them---cake flour, I used ALL PURPOSE FLOUR. I added 1 egg, thinking- it should soften the cake since I was not using a cake flour and I have no corn starch powder to improvise on a cake flour! I used POWDERED SUGAR (CONFECTIONER). All turned out well. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIZZICATTO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States