Geneva's Ultimate Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved it! No butter used olive oil instead. 24oz.of baby bella mushrooms. Used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of skim milk and used a sweet red pepper in place of the wax. I love dill so that with mushrooms are amazing anyway. Filling and hearty yet low fat and low carb. Very tasty and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved this soup! This gave me the base for what ended up being one of the best soups I think I've made! I had to adjust because my hubby is allergic to dairy & wheat (so no flour, milk or sour cream) and I added extra spices for personal taste. I bet it is wonderful just as it is but here are my additions for those that may like them. Used soy flour, plain soy milk, cubes of firm tofu, 1 can of stewed tomatoes & extra chicken broth. Spices were dashes of curry, smoked paprika (along with the sweet Hungarian paprika as listed) seasoned salt & pepper. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
A wonderful rich soup that my hubby and I absolutely love! We will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This soup is awesome! I love that it didn't have cream in it. I added a couple diced tomatoes at the end and toasted some bread to add as a crouton on the top. Super flavorful for something that doesn't have meat in it. I didn't have chicken broth so I just used water and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made a few changes to make this a vegan soup. Used 1 1/2 cups soy milk and no sour cream. A tad of Olive Oil instead of butter. A few minor changes too, based on items on hand. Still was great! Will make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Fantastic hearty soup. Brings back memories of wild mushroom soup my father used to make. Along with fresh rye bread it becomes great comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Spectacular! I have a Hungarian wax pepper plant and I'm trying to find recipes using them. This one was a sure winner! I didn't have any fresh dill so I used 1.5 tsps dried dill instead. This soup is rediculously good! i used a mix of baby bella and white mushrooms. I love that it uses skim milk and light sour cream, too. I only used a quarter of a tsp of salt instead of the full one that the recipe calls for, as well as low sodium soy sauce. I didn't have Hungarian paprika, so I just used regular paprika. After removing the wax pepper and tomato, I ended up chopping them up and using them as a garnish. I usually do not care for dill but it was perfect in this soup! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using regular butter, milk, and sour cream instead of unsalted and lowfat varieties. I added a few more chopped tomatoes to the top of this when I served it. So there I was, trying to decide if I like this Hungarian mushroom soup better than the other Hungarian mushroom soup on the site and...oh! I don't HAVE to decide, huh? What a relief! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I can`t get enough of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tasty and VERY filling soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States